Static Discharge Vanes

By Bj_K_Ka, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I was wondering about SDV. As I understand it, if I use SDV to transfer one ion token when using Feedback Array, no ship takes damage. Is that correct?

If I use SDV when triggering 4-LOM (crew) does it work the same way? Or does the effect of 4-LOM still apply?

Re: SDV + Feedback Array: That is no longer the case. Ships can now use replacement effects while paying costs without interrupting the effect, so using Static Discharge Vanes to pass the ion token from Feedback Array would still cause everyone at range 0 of the Feedback Array ship (including itself) to suffer 1 damage.

Aha. Ok 👍

So what about 4LOM and SDV? Does SDV give one ion from 4LOM to an opponent and you keep one and get a stress? Or can you dump both ions from 4LOM?

Before you engage, you may gain 1 ion token and 1 disarm token. If you do, each ship at range 0 suffers 1 damage.

Before you would gain 1 ion or jam token, if you are not stressed, you may choose another ship at range 0-1 and gain 1 stress token. If you do, the chosen ship gains that ion or jam token instead.

After you fully execute a red maneuver, gain 1 calculate token.

At the start of the End Phase, you may choose 1 ship at range 0-1. If you do, transfer 1 of your stress tokens to that ship.

There's no particularly unusual interaction between 4LOM and this combo, since it takes place during the engagement phase. The only trick with 4LOM is that he can dump off the resulting stress at the end of the round.

If he's not already stressed, which... if you're not already stressed at engagement you're 4LOMming wrong tbh. I don't know what you mean by 'both ions', Feedback Array only gives you one, regardless of base size. And if you already had one from a previous round, no, you can't remove both, because SDV only works on ion tokens you are currently receiving, and only works once per set of tokens received because of the stress*.

*Except Nien Nunb pilot.

13 minutes ago, Aay'han said:

So what about 4LOM and SDV? Does SDV give one ion from 4LOM to an opponent and you keep one and get a stress? Or can you dump both ions from 4LOM?

once per opportunity, so you can only dump one ion and gain a stress instead. 4-lom crew gives you two ion tokens, but that's from a single ability.

Swz08-4-lom-crew.png

Static_Discharge_Vanes.png
Capture.jpg

Each ion token is a separate opportunity per the Nien ruling, but after the first one you're stressed, so you can't shed the second.

16 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

Each ion token is a separate opportunity per the Nien ruling, but after the first one you're stressed, so you can't shed the second.

where is that ruling? can't seem to find it.

It's weird, I remember that ruling as well, but can't find the source...

Sorry, I was referring to the 4LOM crew card, thank you

58 minutes ago, meffo said:

where is that ruling? can't seem to find it.

Looks like the closest we have is either 1e hangover (where it was confirmed stress is one at a time) or an alleged FFG Facebook ruling:

Neither of which is technically official rules...

Time for another submission to the Rules Questions form!

https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/more/customer-service/

2 hours ago, nitrobenz said:

Looks like the closest we have is either 1e hangover (where it was confirmed stress is one at a time) or an alleged FFG Facebook ruling:

It was posted by FFG OP on their facebook page, I put the link somewhere else in the thread

Its was a ruling for a specific tournament though. Official enough for me and every TO I've interacted with, but not "fully official" per se

Damage and Reinforce effects are also explicitly dealt/applied one at a time, so there is precedent.

2 hours ago, prauxim said:

It was posted by FFG OP on their facebook page, I put the link somewhere else in the thread

Its was a ruling for a specific tournament though. Official enough for me and every TO I've interacted with, but not "fully official" per se

i've found some screenshots of it, but not the post itself. if it was posted to the event page, it's probably gone by now. couldn't find a link posted by you either. would certainly be helpful to have this as a ruling for the game as a whole. some of these have already been dealt with in one way or another. i mean, most of them where already clear enough before, rigged cargo has been further clarified, actions when ionized has been changed - and that's pretty much it.

56596550-10156609395647217-6739721826877 56927303-10156609395702217-6310798230598 56730618-10156609395762217-7162074771734

1 hour ago, meffo said:

i've found some screenshots of it, but not the post itself. if it was posted to the event page, it's probably gone by now. couldn't find a link posted by you either. would certainly be helpful to have this as a ruling for the game as a whole. some of these have already been dealt with in one way or another. i mean, most of them where already clear enough before, rigged cargo has been further clarified, actions when ionized has been changed - and that's pretty much it.

Sorry, though I linked it in that thread. Now that I think about I wanted too but there was something weird where I couldn't get a shareable link. This is exactly the post though.

Yeah agreed, there's a lot of stuff even beyond this that TO's are having to rule on and no official word, its dumb.

17 hours ago, prauxim said:

Its was a ruling for a specific tournament though. Official enough for me and every TO I've interacted with, but not "fully official" per se

Keep in mind, that rulings during tournaments have, in the past, been reverse ruled in official reference/FAQ updates. So take those with a grain of salt.

1 hour ago, Lyianx said:

Keep in mind, that rulings during tournaments have, in the past, been reverse ruled in official reference/FAQ updates. So take those with a grain of salt.

True, but rulings in the official reference/FAQ updates have also been reverse ruled in later official reference/FAQ updates so any ruling can always change.

23 hours ago, joeshmoe554 said:

True, but rulings in the official reference/FAQ updates have also been reverse ruled in later official reference/FAQ updates so any ruling can always change.

Yes, but while its written in the official reference/faq post, its official. I don't consider judge/TO decisions made in a pinch when an issue arises, to be official 'accross the entire game all over the world', official rulings. For me, they apply only for that tournament and only for the people involved in said tournament because the TO *had* to make a call to keep the tournament moving.

At the very least, RR/FAQ posts have gone though some vetting and discussion at FFG and given time to test.

Edited by Lyianx