Tractored ship

By Darth Darxide, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I couldn’t find the answer anywhere so I’ll ask here.

1) When performing a tractor boost or barrel roll, does the move ever “fail” because a “bump” into another ship? I do know that obstacles are allowed to be overlapped btw. I just need to know if a partial boost or barrel roll is how it’s resolved when bumping into other ships.

2) Recently while playing against a friend who had ships with the tractor ability. We were unsure of what would happen if a ship has multiple tractor tokens when it comes to defending. I was ok with him removing a defense die for each tractor token. I think this is wrong but I need to confirm.

1: no. You can't bump with tractor movement. It either succeeds or fails.

2: tractor tokens don't stack. You reduce defence by one die regardless of how many tokens after the first you have.

Thank you

To quote the rules directly....

1. You are performing a boost/barrel roll. Pg. 7 & 6 respectively.

Quote

• While attempting to place a ship to complete a boost/barrel roll, the action can fail if any of the following occurs:
1. The ship’s final positions would cause the ship to overlap another ship.
2. The ship would overlap or move through an obstacle.
3. The ship’s final position would cause it to be outside the play area (and therefore would cause that ship to flee).

The only thing a tractored boost/barrel roll overrides is #2. That rule it flat out ignores. But the other two are still in effect. So if you overlap a ship, it goes into a fail state as follows.

Quote

If a boost/barrel roll fails, the ship is returned to its prior position before it attempted the boost/barrel roll.

So short answer is, yes. It can still fail. And like with a normal one, you dont get to try again.


2. Rules Reference pg 19

Quote

During the Engagement Phase, a ship with one or more tractor tokens rolls one fewer defense die.

This is a separate effect from the game state of being tractored . As a ship with 1 tractor token isn't always in a " tractored " state.

Worth noting: if you tractor a Starviper and choose to barrel roll it, you use the 1-bank rather than 1-straight for the barrel roll, in the tractoring-player's choice of direction. I had a friend do that to me the other day, and he put me facing the board edge at just under the speed that a 1-stright would take me. :P It was great. :D

Thanks again people 🍻

5 hours ago, theBitterFig said:

Worth noting: if you tractor a Starviper and choose to barrel roll it, you use the 1-bank rather than 1-straight for the barrel roll, in the tractoring-player's choice of direction. I had a friend do that to me the other day, and he put me facing the board edge at just under the speed that a 1-stright would take me. :P It was great. :D

Yeah, that ruling has never made sense to me.. but.. such is life.

28 minutes ago, Lyianx said:

Yeah, that ruling has never made sense to me.. but.. such is life.

It's like a falling leaf, swaying back and forth.

1 hour ago, theBitterFig said:

It's like a falling leaf, swaying back and forth.

giphy.gif