Are Locks Persistent?

By Giddy Gamer, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Does a lock persist from round to round?

Do i lose a lock if i move outside range 3 of the locked target?

Locks remain until something breaks the lock (like a jam or other ability) or the lock is spent.

From the RR regarding end phase:

“The End Phase is the fifth phase of the round. During the End Phase, all circular tokens are removed from all ships.”

Since a lock is not a circular token, it persists over multiple rounds and while you have to be at range 0-3 to acquire the lock, it persists even if the object subsequently winds up outside of range 3.

1 hour ago, Yank01 said:

Since a lock is not a circular token, it persists over multiple rounds and while you normally have to be at range 0-3 to acquire the lock, it persists even if the object subsequently winds up outside of range 3.

(fixed that for you...)

There are, of course, ways to acquire locks outside of the standard 0-3 range (like E-Wing ship ability, or DRK-1 Probe Droids, for a few). The important part, though, is that @Yank01 is correct that once a ship acquires a Lock on an object, that lock remains in effect until something happens to affect the lock directly. Ways you can "lose" a lock:

  1. The lock is spent (either for its standard effect, or for a special ability from a pilot or upgrade).
  2. The locked object (obstacles and devices can be locked, too) is destroyed, or otherwise permanently removed from the game (i.e. not just being placed into reserves).
  3. A game or card effect breaks the lock (like Spare Parts Container, or being Jammed)
  4. The ship acquires a lock on something different, and lacks the ability to maintain more than one lock at a time (e.g. R3 Astromech or Redline)

Locks can also occasionally be transferred from one ship to another (see Captain Kagi, or Amilyn Holdo), but in those cases, said lock does not "break..." rather, it is just moved from one target to another.

Just to add.. From the core rule book.

Quote

Red Tokens : These tokens are square, have negative effects, and are removed as specified by the token’s effect.

Thanks ... I see the rules do not explicitly deal with lock expiry at long range, and therefore it does not happen ... it just seems reasonable that if a locking technology requires range 3 to acquire, then it will have a certain range limit before the lock fails.

1 minute ago, Giddy Gamer said:

Thanks ... I see the rules do not explicitly deal with lock expiry at long range, and therefore it does not happen ... it just seems reasonable that if a locking technology requires range 3 to acquire, then it will have a certain range limit before the lock fails.

“Reasonable” and FFG rules are 2 completely different things unfortunately

2 hours ago, Giddy Gamer said:

Thanks ... I see the rules do not explicitly deal with lock expiry at long range, and therefore it does not happen ... it just seems reasonable that if a locking technology requires range 3 to acquire, then it will have a certain range limit before the lock fails.

*usually* the basic rule of thumb is.. If it doesnt say to do it, dont do it. Now is that true 100% of the time? Heck no. This is FFG we are talking about. But when in doubt, thats a good note to follow.