fireball vs. hydra

By darthmax1, in Talisman Rules Questions

okay so if you kill the hydra with a fireball,,is the hydra able to regenerate??? and are you able to take the hydra as a trophy? my guess is no and no,,but lets see what the pros say!!

darthmax said:

okay so if you kill the hydra with a fireball,,is the hydra able to regenerate??? and are you able to take the hydra as a trophy? my guess is no and no,,but lets see what the pros say!!

I think no. If You are using FireBall Spell, You automatically are killing Hydra. It has no chance to regenerate, as it only can regenerate when it is defeated in battle, so the attack counts as a stand-off.

Also according to the FAQ :

Fireball
Q: If a character kills an Enemy with the Fireball Spell, can
he take the Enemy as a trophy?
A: Yes.

I have send a question to John Goodenough about the Hydra+fireball gui%C3%B1o.gif ( if it can regenerate)

In the end???

Hello guys, I'm trying to solve the same problem: in my opinion, neither the hydra (or cave troll or whatever) can regenerate itself, nor any enemy can use its special ability to avoid the killing as if it was defeated in combat, 'cause in this case (casting a fireball, and your total score is greater than the enemy's strenght) no combat has still taken place, and you can read on the spell description something like "the enemy is killed", not "defeated".

What do you thin about it?

Bye

Velhart said:

I have send a question to John Goodenough about the Hydra+fireball gui%C3%B1o.gif ( if it can regenerate)

And?

Jaadre said:

Velhart said:

I have send a question to John Goodenough about the Hydra+fireball gui%C3%B1o.gif ( if it can regenerate)

And?

I got no reply back.

I also forgot that i have send this question to him.

I think that if you kill the hydra with fireball, then it can't be regenerated, because you have kill it.

The same would be if you destroy him with a ability.