Your Mind is Known to Me

By B-Rad1234, in UFS Rules Q & A

So since nobody bothered and their bitching back and forth in the general discussion I thought I'd throw it here. Just how does it work? Is Aslum right? Or is BP right? Hey rules moderators! :P

Like I mentioned in that topic, I don't know answer. However, take a look at Cervantes's card Pirate's Tactics, it works on the same premesis as YMIKTM. I'm not even sure there was ever a question about this card, but if there is then YMISTM will probably have the same ruling.

Copied from the same thread:

[begin Rules Arbiter]

Your mind is known to me: (Card text = hawt) your-mind-is-known-to-me.jpg

Throughout this conversation Aslum has been drawing attention to 302.4, where cards already in the card pool count toward progressive difficulty.

What really applied is 302.2:

302.2 To attempt to play a card, a player reveals it from their hand and makes a control check. If their check is equal to or greater than the difficulty of the card they are attempting to play the player puts that card into their card pool to the right of any other cards played this turn, then they have played that card. If the player’s check was less than the required difficulty then they must either commit foundations to make themselves successful (see 302.3) or they will fail the control check, and their attempt to play the card.

Lets look at the card text on YMiKtM, specifically the last sentence:

As long as this card is the only card in your card pool, you may play it as a block as though it were in your hand.

The golden rule of cards says that when card text overrides the rules, you go with the card. So in this case, YMiKtM doesn't say "As though it were both in your hand AND your card pool."

It doesn't count itself, it's a +3 Block.

[/End Rules Arbiter]

Gonna throw in that I agree with Brian.