Swarm Tactics

By Mikael79, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Say I have Quickdraw and two Omega Squadron pilots with Swarm Tactics. Can Quickdraw Swarm with the First Omega, making him a six, and then that pilot Swarm with the second pilot, also making him a six for that Engagement Phase?

Yes.

Specifically, because both cards go into the ability queue, but only one gets resolved at a time. QT resolves first, bumping OS-A to Initiative 6. Then OS-A resolves, at which time their initiative is 6, bumping OS-B to i6, as well.

Edited by Opsmason
Typo
29 minutes ago, Opsmason said:

Yes.

Specifically, because both cards go into the ability queue, but only one gets resolved at a time. QT resolves first, bumping OS-A to Initiative 6. Then OS-A resolves, at which time their initiative is 6, bumping OS-B to i6, as well.

The term "treat as" is also a key here. When QD swarms OS-A up to 6 their initiative is considered to be 6 for any effect that checks it after Quickdraw uses Swarm Tactics on them so OS-A can then swarm OS-B up to 6 as well. This is opposed to "engage at" which doesn't affect the printed value on the pilot card.

2 hours ago, Hiemfire said:

The term "treat as" is also a key here. When QD swarms OS-A up to 6 their initiative is considered to be 6 for any effect that checks it after Quickdraw uses Swarm Tactics on them so OS-A can then swarm OS-B up to 6 as well. This is opposed to "engage at" which doesn't affect the printed value on the pilot card.

As an example of @Hiemfire 's explanation, look at the different wording of Swarm Tactics and Roark Garnet and Torkil Mux.

latest?cb=20180914164403

Card_Pilot_44.png latest?cb=20180914015922

Question, l run a 5-6 tie swarm. Howlrunner (5), lden (4), Hask (4), Seyn (4), Wampa (1). If Howlrunner does not have a shot, can l still trickle down swarm tactics using Howlrunner ps?

26 minutes ago, BobaFett009 said:

Question, l run a 5-6 tie swarm. Howlrunner (5), lden (4), Hask (4), Seyn (4), Wampa (1). If Howlrunner does not have a shot, can l still trickle down swarm tactics using Howlrunner ps?

Yes, there is nothing on the upgrade or in the rules that require the ship(s) with Swarm Tactics to have a shot.

Indeed, you have to decide Swarm Tactics at the start of engagement, before you work out if anyone has any shots at all...

On 9/1/2019 at 6:38 PM, BobaFett009 said:

Question, l run a 5-6 tie swarm. Howlrunner (5), lden (4), Hask (4), Seyn (4), Wampa (1). If Howlrunner does not have a shot, can l still trickle down swarm tactics using Howlrunner ps?

Yup.

This is "start of engagement", which is before ships start engaging.

So not really relevant for this specific case, but in general keep in mind that even ships without shots "Engages" during the engagement phase. (with all related triggers and effects, for example Console Fire)

Just like each ship "activates" during the activation phase.

Edited by Bort