Grappling Struts and Rotation

By Ronu, in X-Wing Rules Questions

So question about the Grappling Struts being open in an Asteroid. It references if you perform a left or right maneuver rotate the droid 90 degrees. Would I be correct in forcing an opponent to rotate his droid if he uses a left/right Bank?

If they had just landed on the asteroid the turn no. If they had started the turn on it with their struts open and had a bank or a turn revealed on their dial yes.

Just a note, the only maneuver that can be "performed" by a droid starting its activation with struts open and being on an asteroid or debris field is the 2 straight.

The wording on the card is pretty clear in this regard, I believe only a straight or K-turn will not result in rotation.

be82da17cfd39003fda380bead210eb9.png

Maneuvers that have a left/right component include Banks, Turns, Segnors loops, Tallon rolls, and reverse Banks.

Edit: @Hiemfire very astutely observed that the original question could be interpreted as asking if a Droid must rotate as it lands, which is a no. The rotating is what the Droid does instead of its chosen maneuver when it reveals a maneuver at r0 of an asteroid.

Edited by nitrobenz
Ninja'd
20 hours ago, Hiemfire said:

Just a note, the only maneuver that can be "performed" by a droid starting its activation with struts open and being on an asteroid or debris field is the 2 straight.

And the Ion Maneuver when ionized.