Linked Actions

By Diamond_Spear, in X-Wing Rules Questions

When performing a linked action do you have to perform both actions or can you stop after performing the first action?

33 minutes ago, Diamond_Spear said:

When performing a linked action do you have to perform both actions or can you stop after performing the first action?

You can stop after the first.

RR pg 12

Quote

After a ship performs an action with an attached linked action, if the player wants to resolve the linked action, it is added to the ability queue.

Also note that if you want to perform the linked action, you have to perform (not failing) the action it is linked to first.

For example the TIE/sf Fighter Has to perform Focus, Evade, Lock, or Barrel Roll, before its allowed to rotate its arc. It cannot opt to only rotate its arc, nor can it do so if its failed the action its linked to.