CONCEALED MARKERS in days of the fox

By The Thing In The Attic, in Tide of Iron

Hi I have a question about the use and function of concealed markers.

I understand how to use them for the base game but when adding the expansion Days of the Fox i'm not sure how they work with fixed artillery guns.

Can you make a unit with the equipment trait concealed?

If a concealed squad is used to operate an anti tank gun does it become revealed even though the squad isn't classed as being activated?

A concealed squad is revealed if it is in an objective hex; is this true regardles of which side the objective applies to?.

(e.g would a german squad be revealled if it moved into a british objective hex?)

Some similar questions about the DOTF scenario Hellfire Pass in which the Germans start with 4 concealed markers.

can squads in the two grey hexes, where the anti tank guns are placed, be concealed?

the scenario states that the two german anti-tank guns may not be attacked, so does accidently attacking the two german anti tank guns make the british loose the scenario? for example a drifting artillery strike?

thanks

Hi.

1. No, you can´t, since you can´t conceal a vehicle. If you look in the reference sheets, you will see the AT guns are considered vehicles for game purposes (little tank icon).

2. No, it is not revealed as - as you said - it is not being activated by that action.

3. Yes.

Hellfire:

1. Sure they can. But the squad on 20A will be revealed immediately in the first round, as it is not in a cover providing terrain and the British tanks will have LOS to it. The squad on 17A will stay concealed until being activated if you put it in the entrenchment. The entrenchment functions the same way a cover-providing terrain does for concealment purposes.

2. Nay. Just no attack can damage them.

Good luck in Tiding.

ad. 3. The rules say that the unit is revealed as it enters the objective hex. I would consider units placed there in setup( or as a result of a card) as Consealed and not revealed imidiatly.

I believe it says in the rules you can't place concealed squads on an objective during setup. And an unofficial faq supports this too. Over on BBG this was discussed recently.

Lebatron said:

I believe it says in the rules you can't place concealed squads on an objective during setup. And an unofficial faq supports this too. Over on BBG this was discussed recently.

To be more exact, the rules state, "If a concealed squad moves into an objective hex (one containing a command objective, victory point marker, or any other specific hex mentioned in the scenario), it is immediately revealed."

The key part of the sentence is “moves into an objective hex” so, technically a concealed squad can be setup or become concealed (using the Go to Ground strategy card) once it is on an objective hex, but the overall opinion is that a squad can never be concealed in objective hexes.

There is another thread on BGG about this: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/192518

Has anyone addressed this question to the designer? What was his official answer?