Angled Deflectors & Darth Vader (Pilot)

By Cgriffith, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Darth Vader (with Angled Deflectors) rolls 2 evades with Angled Deflectors the ship attacking rolls 3 hits, how would this resolve.

Came up during a game I watched tonight at league. The player with Vader used the reinforce token to cancel the other hit which I thought couldn't occur?

14 minutes ago, Cgriffith said:

Darth Vader (with Angled Deflectors) rolls 2 evades with Angled Deflectors the ship attacking rolls 3 hits, how would this resolve.

Came up during a game I watched tonight at league. The player with Vader used the reinforce token to cancel the other hit which I thought couldn't occur?

The Vader player used Reinforce incorrectly. It only adds an evade if more than one hit remains, so in this scenario the reinforce token should not have helped and Vader should have taken 1 damage.

Quote

During the Neutralize Results step, if the attack would hit and there is more than one [hit]/[crit] result remaining, one [evade result is added to cancel one result. (Reinforce, p.15)

2 hours ago, Maui. said:

The Vader player used Reinforce incorrectly. It only adds an evade if more than one hit remains, so in this scenario the reinforce token should not have helped and Vader should have taken 1 damage.

That’s what myself and another player believed as well, and wanted clarification. After it occurred we looked at the FAQ ourselves to make sure of the correct order of steps.

1 hour ago, theBitterFig said:

Pg. 15

This exactly. Thank you.