Amilyn Holdo + M9-G8

By caelenvasius, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Scenario: A ship with M9-G8 locks a friendly ship with Amilyn Holdo. Her ability triggers, and she transfers the lock token to the ship with M9-G8, since that ship doesn't currently have a lock token. The ship with M9-G8 now has a lock on itself, triggering the astromech's ability every time the ship attacks, regardless of arc.
Am I missing something, or is this legit? The rules prohibit a ship from acquiring a lock on itself, but Holdo's ability gets around that because she's transferring the token...
#myheadasplode #1.0predator
Relevant Text:
  • Amilyn Holdo: Before you engage, you may choose another friendly ship at range 1-2. You may transfer to that ship 1 token of a type that ship does not have. That ship may transfer 1 token to you of a type you do not have.
  • M9-G8: While a ship you are locking performs an attack, you may choose 1 attack die. If you do, the attacker rerolls that die.
  • "RRG p.13, "Lock": A ship cannot acquire a lock on itself.
Thanks to Quack_Shot for blowing my mind on the Warlock Squadron Discord server...

Edit: for the record, I want this to not work...but I don't get to choose which rules to ignore if an interaction I don't like is supported.
Edited by caelenvasius

The restriction on locks prevents the transfer of Lock Token 1 to Ship 1. Exceptions to the rules have to be a explicit, like After Burners: “perform a [boost] action, even while stressed.

needs further clarification i think.

this may be relevant, from page 26 of the RR, FAQ, under Locking:

"Q: What happens when two locks from the same ship with an R3 Astromech [󲁔] are transferred onto a single ship (such
as by Captain Kagi’s [Lambda-class Shuttle] pilot ability)?

A: The R3 Astromech only allows having two locks if they are on different ships, so one of the locks breaks if they are transferred to a single ship."

personally, i would rule against a ship having a lock on itself, based on the fact that a ship cannot acquire a lock on itself, that's just me though. the other way of looking (locking) on it is totaly viable as far as i can see, RAW.

So I should have prefaced this earlier, and I'll edit my original post to reflect this, but I don't want it to work. It feels wrong . Dirty somehow. But I don't get to say "I'm going to ignore an interaction that's supported in the rules."

I did come across the following:
RRG, pg 19, "Tokens": If a ship involved in a transfer is not able to remove or gain the token involved, the transfer cannot take place.

I think this is what may prohibit a ship gaining a lock against itself. The rule about acquiring buy itself is not enough. This clause provides that clarification I think.