Jumping from rock to rock

By Harlaan, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Grappling Struts

Closed:

Setup: Equip this side faceup.

While you execute a maneuver, if you overlap an asteroid or debris cloud and there are 1 or fewer other friendly ships at range 0 of that obstacle, you may flip this card.

Open:

You ignore obstacles at range 0 and while you move through them. After you reveal your dial, if you reveal a maneuver other than a [2 straight] and are at range 0 of an asteroid or debris cloud, skip your Execute Maneuver step and remove 1 stress token; if you revealed a right or left maneuver, rotate your ship 90º in that direction. After you execute a maneuver, flip this card.

Let's say you are a vulture landed on a rock with your struts open. You dial in a 2 straight which brings you to a new rock. Questions:

1- Do you suffer the effects of the obstacles?

2- After your activation, are the struts open or closed?

I would say that

1) no, because if you reveal a 2 straight, you execute the maneuver, then the obstacles effect and card flipping both have the "after you execute a maneuver" timing so you would first ignore the obstacle and then flip the card

2)the struts are closed, because you already executed a maneuver so you can't follow the "while you execute a maneuver" trigger

Right? Wrong? Clarification?

10 minutes ago, Harlaan said:

Grappling Struts

Closed:

Setup: Equip this side faceup.

While you execute a maneuver, if you overlap an asteroid or debris cloud and there are 1 or fewer other friendly ships at range 0 of that obstacle, you may flip this card.

Open:

You ignore obstacles at range 0 and while you move through them. After you reveal your dial, if you reveal a maneuver other than a [2 straight] and are at range 0 of an asteroid or debris cloud, skip your Execute Maneuver step and remove 1 stress token; if you revealed a right or left maneuver, rotate your ship 90º in that direction. After you execute a maneuver, flip this card.

Let's say you are a vulture landed on a rock with your struts open. You dial in a 2 straight which brings you to a new rock. Questions:

1- Do you suffer the effects of the obstacles?

2- After your activation, are the struts open or closed?

I would say that

1) no, because if you reveal a 2 straight, you execute the maneuver, then the obstacles effect and card flipping both have the "after you execute a maneuver" timing so you would first ignore the obstacle and then flip the card

2)the struts are closed, because you already executed a maneuver so you can't follow the "while you execute a maneuver" trigger

Right? Wrong? Clarification?

Seems correct to me. Struts are open while you move, so you're still ignoring obstacles. You land on the second rock (ignoring its effects) and close struts after you execute the maneuver.

I believe this is a correct reading of the card.

But seeing as I'm assuming you have already somehow overcome the as-written impossibility of opening the struts in the first place so that you can play the card as-intended (so it functions), it is debatable whether or not it's reasonable to enforce this given that there is not a clear sign of intent...

Did this rock hoping happen in any of the streamed FFG demo games?

6 hours ago, Harlaan said:

I would say that

1) no, because if you reveal a 2 straight, you execute the maneuver, then the obstacles effect and card flipping both have the "after you execute a maneuver" timing so you would first ignore the obstacle and then flip the card

2)the struts are closed, because you already executed a maneuver so you can't follow the "while you execute a maneuver" trigger

Right? Wrong? Clarification?

Correct. It is nice when the people asking questions actually know how to read. :)

So, just to be absolutely sure, on the second rock you wouldn't roll for damage from overlapping but you wouldn't be able to fire, because in the engagement phase you are not ignoring it anymore right?

You are allowed to shoot.

You ignore obstacles at range zero AND while you move through them.

34 minutes ago, Harlaan said:

So, just to be absolutely sure, on the second rock you wouldn't roll for damage from overlapping but you wouldn't be able to fire, because in the engagement phase you are not ignoring it anymore right?

Correct, when you're on the second rock your wings are on the closed side, which doesn't ignore rocks.

So with struts closed on the 2nd rock you cannot shoot.

What if I have struts open on a rock and I barrel roll to the other side of the rock while remaining on the rock ... struts remain open and I can shoot, right?

9 minutes ago, Slade said:

So with struts closed on the 2nd rock you cannot shoot.

What if I have struts open on a rock and I barrel roll to the other side of the rock while remaining on the rock ... struts remain open and I can shoot, right?

Yup.