A ship can perform a SLAM action only as the ship’s one action during the Perform Action step. Therefore a ship cannot perform a SLAM action if it is granted an action from another effect .
Come ON FFG seriously. Make an effort. They've been so careful up to now, to ensure that free SLAMs don't exist, and that they can only be performed during the Perform Action Step, with Black One having the msot convoluted mechanics to make that happen.
And then just... sure, why not SLAM outside the Perform Action Step?
I'm hoping that they will come up with a more general rule that makes SLAM a little bit easier to use: "you can only SLAM when you have revealed your dial. If you attempt to SLAM before your dial is revealed, it fails."
Either that or different card text: "After you partially execute a manoeuvre, you may expose 1 of your damage cards or suffer 1 crit to not skip your perform action step. If you do you must perform a SLAM action during that step."
Fingers crossed for now, I'll revisit this thread if the rules ref for the wave release doesn't include some change, or the card text doesn't.
Siiiiiigh.