Ric and Seventh fleet gunner

By K13R4N, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Ric - While you defend or perform a primary attack, if the speed of your revealed maneuver is higher than the enemy ship's, roll 1 additional die.

Seventh Fleet Gunner - While another friendly ship performs a primary attack, if the defender is in your firing arc, you may spend 1 . If you do, the attacker rolls 1 additional die, to a maximum of 4. During the System Phase, you may gain 1 disarm token to recover 1 .

So both abilities say "while you perfom a primary attack."

Does this mean I can choose the order and add dice up to 4 with seventh fleet gunner then a additional one with rics ability?

See previous discussions:

It's not clear.

28 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

See previous discussions:

It's not clear.

In the end of that didn't we come down to the question being whether Ric's ability lacking the word "may" becomes a "game effect" the same as a range bonus?

If I remember my argument was that Ric is a "must do" and 7th Fleet Gunner is a "may do." A "must do" or "game effect" (like stress from a red maneuver) processes first. Ric going faster at range one would be at four die before you could choose the "may do" on 7th Fleet Gunner. 7th Fleet Gunner tops off at four so you can't use it.

I also recall a general sense of "nope, can't do that" in the thread based strictly on 7th Fleet Gunner's limit of four.

There was also a general sense of doing Ric after and going to five at range one as a reasonable reading of things.

Not clear but you're likely best assuming it doesn't work.