Autoblasters and Bullseye arc

By irishthump, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Guys,

A ship with Autoblasters measures range to a target and is at range 2 when measuring closest point to closest point.

Check for bullseye and the target is within the bullseye arc but outside range 2 when measured in the bullseye arc. Does the attacker still get the bonus die?

A6AFFA0A-E450-42AC-969C-1B0A4DB00E2F.jpeg

Yes.

It follows the same pattern as Soontir Fel or Corran Horn's abilities.

"If the defender is in your bullseye arc..." is a simple conditional check. It doesn't specify that you must perform the attack itself using the bullseye arc. The wording for such an ability would usually be "while you perform a [bullseye arc] attack..."

Autoblasters is a [front arc] weapon. You always perform the attack using the full \/ arc. Once you've checked the bullseye condition, you gain the extra die for the attack if the defender is in. You then perform the attack using the \/, measuring range and arc as you would for any other \/ attack. So long as the closest point is range 2, you can shoot with Autoblasters.

EDIT: Just as additional clarification, a ship's bullseye arc always extends out to range 3. The bullseye arc is an attribute of the ship base itself, not given by the Autoblasters upgrade. If AB were intended to only allow the extra die at range 1-2, it would have to read "If the defender is in your bullseye arc at range 1-2" as, again, this condition check is separate from the weapon's arc and range and restrictions.

Edited by GuacCousteau

Thanks.

That’s exactly how we ruled and interpreted the card. Good to know we got it right.