Midnight versus Reinforce

By AceDogbert, in X-Wing Rules Questions

So, Midnight, the I6 slightly red-headed stepchild of the TIE/fo aces.

Image result for x wing 2.0 midnight

Would I be correct in saying that if Midnight were to lock onto and attack a reinforced ship, that ship would not gain any benefit from the reinforce action? The rules reference states that:

"During the Neutralize Results step, if the attack would hit and there is more than one hit/crit result remaining, one evade result is added to cancel one result."

Does this qualify as a modification to the dice? When I started typing this, I was fairly certain that Midnight's ability would work against Reinforce, but I'm not so certain now.

Adding results is a dice modification regardless of when it happens, so Midnight blocks it.

On 7/26/2019 at 8:33 AM, thespaceinvader said:

Adding results is a dice modification regardless of when it happens, so Midnight blocks it.

There is an issue though. The Rules Reference and the core rulebook say different things as to what Reinforce does and how it works. Core rulebook just says reduce damage by one to a min of one. The Rules Reference stared above at least as I read above is a dice mod altogether so it could be argued either way.

22 minutes ago, Ronu said:

There is an issue though. The Rules Reference and the core rulebook say different things as to what Reinforce does and how it works. Core rulebook just says reduce damage by one to a min of one. The Rules Reference stared above at least as I read above is a dice mod altogether so it could be argued either way.

Rules Reference overrules the "core" Rulebook when there is a conflict.

Golden Rules

If a rule in this guide contradicts the Rulebook, the rule in this guide takes precedence.

If the ability of a card conflicts with the rules in this guide, the card ability takes precedence.

If a card ability uses the word "cannot," that effect is absolute and cannot be overridden by other effects.

During an attack or while otherwise resolving an effect involving dice, each die cannot be rerolled more than once.