The Glittering Tower

By Aryan, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

#13 The Glittering Tower (Unique High Elf Support) 2-H

1/0. Building.

Kingdom. Action: Whenever you heal a unit , deal 1 damage to one target enemy unit or one target section of an opponent's capital.

I am not sure what's the proper use of The Glittering Tower action in this situation:

I have 3 damaged units each with 1 dmg marker on it. Now, at the beggining of my turn i heal all of them using Initiate's of saphery skill:

#6 Initiate of Saphery (High Elf Unit) 3-H

1/3. Initiate. Mage.

Kingdom. Action: At the beginning of your turn, heal 1 damage from each unit you control.

Do i deal 3 dmg to my opponent because the description of glittering tower says unit and not unitS ? or do i deal only 1 dmg because all units where healed at the same time?

The triggering condition is healing a unit. Every time you heal a unit the Tower would have an opportunity to trigger... though sending this to James for confirmation would be a good idea. I'm not sure if we ever received anything official on this one.

Thx. This support is ok if ruled per unit. It would be useless if only 1 per action.

There's another thread on this issue and that one still doesn't have a ruling on it. (Lots of opinions though...)

Our group plays it as the trigger being the unit being healed, so each unit healed regardless of how they were healed gets to assign a point of damage.

I copied and pasted the original post into a question for James.

And here is the answer.

***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

cleardot.gif Reply
cleardot.gif
cleardot.gif cleardot.gif

James Hata

to me
show details 12:23 PM (9 hours ago)
Hi Rex,

You do 3 damage. The card checks for every instance of a unit being healed (which in this case is 3).

Hope this helps

James


On May 11, 2010, at 9:03 PM, < [email protected] > < [email protected] > wrote:

Message from:
Rex Gator


E-mail:
[email protected]


Rule Question:
My question is in regards to the card Glittering Tower,

#13 The Glittering Tower (Unique High Elf Support) 2-H

1/0. Building.

Kingdom. Action: Whenever you heal a unit, deal 1 damage to one target enemy unit or one target section of an opponent's capital.

I am not sure what's the proper use of The Glittering Tower action in this situation:

I have 3 damaged units each with 1 dmg marker on it. Now, at the beggining of my turn i heal all of them using Initiate's of saphery skill:

#6 Initiate of Saphery (High Elf Unit) 3-H

1/3. Initiate. Mage.

Kingdom. Action: At the beginning of your turn, heal 1 damage from each unit you control.

Do i deal 3 dmg to my opponent because the description of glittering tower says unit and not unitS? or do i deal only 1 dmg because all units where healed at the same time?

Is it dealing 3 X 1 point damage, so toughness 1 would protect a unit completely? or is it dealing 3 damage at once?

This would be three separate instances of doing 1 damage so if the damage is assigned to a unit with toughness 1 then each instance of the damage being assigned would be cancelled by toughness. So, no damage would be applied to the unit with toughness 1.

Thank You RexGator.

So this support is eventually usefull. Maybe not against orks (no injured units, only dead :P ) but against other races... And it works well with indirect dmg. Firstly dmg your own units just to punish your enemy right after.

Official answer by Lukas from FFG to the follow-up question:


Question:
At the beginning of my turn I heal three Units with Initiate of Saphery. There is one The Glittering Tower is in play.

Is it dealing 3 X 1 damage, so toughness 1 would protect a unit completely? Or is it dealing 3 damage at once?

Answer:
You resolve each unit healed by the Glittering Tower separately (otherwise it would only trigger once from the Initiate). So it is dealing 1 damage three times, meaning that toughness protects a unit from it.

To my mind this clarification would be a nice addition to Entropy's rules summary.

I thought that was pretty clear from the rules, but if people are confused by it I guess I can add it.

After editing the Deckbox post I can see what that was confusing, as my text clearly said "deal 3 damage".