Padme v CLT.

By ingtaer, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Padme's wording is "When an enemy ship in your fore arc defends or performs an attack, that ship can modify only one eye result (other results can be modified).

CLT is "When you perform a primary attack, if the defender is in your bullseye, add one eye result.

Does that mean a D7 with CLT that attacks Padme in bullseye adds a die with a focus but can not modify it (nor any other eye results they may have on other dice)?

If you add the eyeball, you can then modify it as normal, but not any other eyeball results you may have. As adding it in the first place is a modification to that result, which makes that result the only eyeball you can mod..

Thanks, I couldn't work out whether adding the eyeball counted as the only opportunity Padme allows. As you note adding an extra die with an eyeball showing is, of itself, a modification and as they can only modify one eye... Fear I might be overthinking it.

I think you cannot modify the eyeball added with CLT against Padme.

It's a modification and it's an eyeball added, so you have spend your opportunity to modify an eyeball result.

13 minutes ago, S4ul0 said:

I think you cannot modify the eyeball added with CLT against Padme.

It's a modification and it's an eyeball added, so you have spend your opportunity to modify an eyeball result.

That's not what Padme does.


She says 'you can only modify one eyeball result', she does not limit how many times you can modify that result.

It's definitely ambiguous. I would lean towards being able to mod the added eyeball result, because the prohibition is not on the number of modifications but rather on the number of eyeball results that may be modified, and in this scenario there are two modifications but they both involve the same eyeball result. However, this interaction needs to be addressed, because of course it's significantly messier than it first seems.

I thought adding was not a mod?

4 minutes ago, JBFancourt said:

I thought adding was not a mod?

Capture.jpg

Intuitively - there can be only one dice in the dice pool which has previously shown its focus side but now shows a different side. CLT adds a result to the pool (which is a modification) and the result added is focus, but I'm not sure it explicitly "modifies a focus result". When focus token is being spend on attack, it's focus results which are being modified into hits. So: focus results are modified, hit results are result of modification.

If applying a modification which results in result X showing counts as "modifying result X", then what would have to happen if an attack of four blanks is being re-rolled with Lock into four focus results while in Padme's arc? It's ridiculous to assume the ability kicks, isn't it? Jut because modification gave the focus results it doesn't mean it modified the focus results.

Similarly, I believe simply adding the CLT die to the pool doesn't interact with Padme at all - but if the added focus is not the only one in the pool, adding it is pointless as there will be no way to modify both the "natural" focus and the one from CLT during this shot.

1 hour ago, thespaceinvader said:

That's not what Padme does.


She says 'you can only modify one eyeball result', she does not limit how many times you can modify that result. 

A result is different from a die. A result is not the same once it has been modified once.

Else how would you track the result if you reroll an eye ball and a blank into one eyball and a blank. Is the eyeball result the same as before the reroll or the other one ? It makes no sense.

Though I agree adding a eyeball result with CLT does not count as modifing a eyeball result.

Edited by Ximatique
10 minutes ago, Ximatique said:

A result is different from a die. A result is not the same once it has been modified once.

Else how would you track the result if you reroll an eye ball and a blank into one eyball and a blank. Is the eyeball result the same as before the reroll or the other one ? It makes no sense.

Though I agree adding a eyeball result with CLT does not count as modifing a eyeball result.

I agree with your logic up until the very last bit. Though it is somewhat counterintuitive, the rules seem quite clear that adding an eyeball result is in fact modifying an eyeball result:

Quote

DICE MODIFICATION

Players can modify dice by spending various tokens and by resolving abilities. Dice can be modified in the following ways:

  • Add: To add a die result, place an unused die displaying the result next to the rolled dice. A die added in this way is treated as a normal die for all purposes and can be modified and canceled.
  • Change: To change a die result, rotate the die so that its faceup side displays the new result.
  • Reroll: To reroll a die result, pick up the die and roll it again.
  • Spend: To spend a result, remove the die from the dice pool.

Compare the phrasing of "to add a die result" with "to [change/reroll/spend] a die result" and there isn't much doubt that adding a result counts as modifying that result.

I see what you mean. You argue that the beginning of the sentence defines the result being modified. I could agree with that.

So it would mean you could add an eyeball result (with CLT or Finn pod). You have modified an eyeball result by adding one. Then you could turn it into a hit with a Focus or Force token, considering it is the exact same result you just added, you're still modifing only one eyball result as Padme says. But if you reroll you take away your only mod, as once the die is being turned to an other result, it would be considered an other result, then no more mod allowed.

Edited by Ximatique
1 hour ago, Ximatique said:

Else how would you track the result if you reroll an eye ball and a blank into one eyball and a blank. Is the eyeball result the same as before the reroll or the other one ? It makes no sense.

This is the really complex question with Padme.

I don't think it has to be this complicated.

CLT = add 1 eyeball RESULT (this is not a modification to an eyeball result, it is modification to the DICE)

Padme = enemy modifies only 1 eyeball result, other results can still be modified (blank, hit, crit, evade)

Effect: If you triggered CLT, and you are attacking, you then roll your attack dice. Then, you put a red die focus on the board, thus modifying your DICE. If you have reroll capabilities, you can reroll (but can only include 1 eyeball result), OR you only re-roll non-eyeballs and then modify one of them. OR you don't reroll and modify one of them.

What are the gaps?

Edited by napolyphonic
2 minutes ago, napolyphonic said:

I don't think it has to be this complicated.

CLT = add 1 eyeball RESULT (this is not a modification to an eyeball result, it is modification to the DICE)

Padme = enemy modifies only 1 eyeball result, other results can still be modified (blank, hit, crit, evade)

Effect: If you triggered CLT, and you are attacking, you put a red die focus on the board, thus modifying your DICE. You then roll your attack dice. If you have reroll capabilities, you can reroll (but can only include 1 eyeball result), OR you only re-roll non-eyeballs and then modify one of them. OR you don't reroll and modify one of them.

What are the gaps?

The gap is in your first parenthetical [" (this is not a modification to an eyeball result, it is modification to the DICE)"]. The way the rules are written suggests that adding an eye result is, in fact, modifying an eyeball result. See my previous post

Then what's your interpretation of this:
"A die added in this way is treated as a normal die for all purposes and can be modified and canceled.  "

What's the definition of a "normal die"?

1 minute ago, napolyphonic said:

Then what's your interpretation of this:
"A die added in this way is treated as a normal die for all purposes and can be modified and canceled.  "

What's the definition of a "normal die"?

The die does not have any properties that distinguish it from the other dice in the pool.

Sorry if I'm not following, but what would be considered "properties that distinguish it from the other dice in the pool"?

7 minutes ago, napolyphonic said:

Sorry if I'm not following, but what would be considered "properties that distinguish it from the other dice in the pool"?

There are none, because there is no difference between the added die and the other dice in the pool, so an added die has no distinguishing properties.

Are you looking for an example of something that would distinguish it from other dice in the pool? Hypothetically speaking, if the game rules prevented added dice from being modified or canceled, those would be properties that distinguish it from other dice. But on its own, an added die has no such properties and is treated no differently than a die that has been rolled.

Hm. Seems we need an official ruling from somewhere as I think we just went in a circle.

(this also applies to Vennie and Sabine as well)

Edited by napolyphonic

This is simply a case of extremely poor foresight in terms of compiling the rules and the terminology that FFG decided to use. FFG have classified that adding a die result is a dice modification, it make no logical or linguistic sense but that what their rules say.

The same applies to spending a die result as well, this is somehow a dice modification which means if you use Rose Tico crew on a ship in Padme's arc to spend a focus result to get a target lock then that’s your single focus result modification and you can't actually change any other focus results you may have.

As many have pointed out adding or spending dice results should be considered modifying your dies ROLL but the rules don’t acknowledge the dice roll as anything, only the individual dice after the roll has happened.

Edited by Mace Windu