Performed, failed and completed actions

By Shane214, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Is a performed action an action that has been either completed or failed? Or is it considered performed only if completed?

23 hours ago, Shane214 said:

Is a performed action an action that has been either completed or failed? Or is it considered performed only if completed?

Only if completed. A failed barrel roll does not trigger abilities that happen after you perform a barrel roll, including linked actions.

51 minutes ago, Maui. said:

Only if completed. A failed barrel roll does not trigger abilities that happen after you perform a barrel roll, including linked actions.

That said, isn't the consensus also that, after failing a barrel roll, you can't at some other time that turn attempt another Barrel Roll. That is, failing an action doesn't exempt you from rule that you can't perform the same action twice in the same turn.

2 minutes ago, theBitterFig said:

That said, isn't the consensus also that, after failing a barrel roll, you can't at some other time that turn attempt another Barrel Roll. That is, failing an action doesn't exempt you from rule that you can't perform the same action twice in the same turn.

This is why:

Quote

• There is no maximum limit to the number of actions a ship can perform over the course of a round, but a ship cannot perform the same action more than once during a single round, or perform an action it has failed this round.

Interesting. So, if a ship is coordinated, attempts a barrel roll, and fails, all before its activation... it can't subsequently attempt a barrel roll AFTER its maneuver, because it already failed previously?

4 minutes ago, emeraldbeacon said:

Interesting. So, if a ship is coordinated, attempts a barrel roll, and fails, all before its activation... it can't subsequently attempt a barrel roll AFTER its maneuver, because it already failed previously?

Correct.

1 hour ago, Maui. said:

This is why: [rule which specifically includes failed actions]

I keep forgetting there's a special call-out in the rule.

Either way, a failed [such and such] action is still that action; it just resolved in a different way, and cannot be used for activating other abilities.