Larma D'Acy Coordinating Shenanigans

By Sabre 7, in X-Wing Rules Questions

If ship performs a coordinate action and fails, does it count as "having "coordinated" for the sake of triggering Nodin Chardri's ability?

I was flying Nodin Chavdri (resistance transport) with Larma D'Acy crew today, and a situation arose where he performed a red manuever, used Larma D'Acy to perform a coordinate action (which failed because there were no viable targets), and then used his ability to perform a red focus action.

Was this legal, or did I cheat? I can't find anything in the rules or rules reference that says you can't do this.

Define "viable target".

In the Rules Reference under "Fail," on page 11...

Quote

An effect that fails does not trigger any effects that would occur after a ship resolves that effect.

Therefore, as @Hiemfire said, it depends on what you mean by "Viable Target..."

  • If there is no legal target in range (a friendly ship at range 1-2 that hasn't Passive Sensor'd that turn), then the Coordinate fails, and Nodin would not be able to trigger his extra action.
  • If there is a legal target in range, but that target can't perform an action (maybe it's stressed, can't repostition, or has already done all of its available actions that turn), then Nodin's coordinate did technically succeed, and he can trigger his extra action.

Refer to the Rules Reference for more information. :D