Obstacles

By Angst03, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Hi there,

I have a few questions regarding Obstacles relating to the last bullet in the Rules Reference : "Before a ship moves, if it is at range 0 of an obstacle, it does not suffer the effects of that obstacle unless it moves through or overlaps that obstacle again.".

  1. D oes it mean that I suffer the effects of the obstacle only if I leave it and move through it again with a weird combination of maneuvers or when I move off of it only ?
  2. What happens if I stay stationary on an obstacle ?
  3. Is it the same if I rotate 90 or 180 degree after staying stationary ?

Thanks!

Edited by Angst03

It means that if you start your move on an obstacle, you only suffer the effct of the obstacle if your template crosses it or your base ends up on it.

If you do a stop on an obstacle, regardless of whether you rotated, you ended your move on the obstacle and suffer its effects.

If you are a Vulture or Hyena grappled onto an obstacle, you ignore it and you don't execute manouevres anyway.

So if the front of my ship is outside the obstacle I don't suffer the effects on my next move but if it's my back it does ?

Edited by Angst03

You suffer the effects of the obstacle if your template crosses it, or if your base ends the manoeuvre on it.

To start off you roll for damage when landing on an asteroid, that parts easy enough.

7 hours ago, Angst03 said:

So if the front of my ship is outside the obstacle I don't suffer the effects on my next move but if it's my back it does ?

If you landed with the front of your base on the asteroid then there is no way to avoid rolling for damage the next turn because your template will overlap the asteroid during your next maneuver. (This assumes a forward maneuver, of course)

If you landed with the front of your base outside the asteroid then you will not roll for damage on the next maneuver as long as you fully clear the obstacle. If your maneuver is too short or you are blocked and end up with any part of the base overlapping again then you will need to roll for damage.

Thank you both for your answers. 😊