Can you use electronic baffle to remove the stress token maul's ability gives and destroy your own ship with it?
Electronic Baffle+Maul looping
Sure? Seems like an expensive way to proc Dead Man’s Switch.
Looped in the same End Phase no, over the course of several turns yes. The Once Per Opportunity rule applies to Electronic Baffle.
Once Per Opportunity
Many abilities are restricted to occur "once per opportunity," which means they can be resolved only one time during the specified timing window. For example, if an ability occurs "At the start of the Engagement Phase," this ability can only be resolved once at the start of each Engagement Phase.
As another example, if a ship has the ability "While you perform an attack, you may reroll 1 attack die," it may resolve that ability once during each of its attacks.
I guess I was presuming you only had one hull left and were thinking “you can’t fire me, I quit!”
As @Hiemfire said, you could Maul once, and then EB once (or vice versa), in the end phase. But you couldn’t continue the Maul/EB rage-quit in the same end phase.
5 hours ago, Hiemfire said:Many abilities are restricted to occur "once per opportunity," which means they can be resolved only one time during the specified timing window. For example, if an ability occurs "At the start of the Engagement Phase," this ability can only be resolved once at the start of each Engagement Phase.
It's basically the same as having a baffle and 2 stress tokens. You can still only remove 1 of them for a dmg per turn.
It is a bit confusing though, since some timing windows are obviously instantaneous, "At the start of...", but others have a longer duration, like Baffle, "During the ..." which could lead one to believe it can happen multiple times.