R4 on the Resistance Transport

By Copperblue74, in X-Wing Rules Questions

This might be a silly question but thought I’d get this straight before I put it into action. The R4 on the Resistance Transport. Does that mean that the hard 1’s and the reverse 1’s now become white moves?? Just trying to remember what the ruling there. Also, if I’m using Cova Nell, if reveal a red maneuver a s the R4 makes it a white one, her pilot ability still works....because I REVEALED red maneuver.....correct? Thanks for your input.

The R4 astromech would only influence the speed one turns, as the card text specifies that it reduces the difficulty of basic maneuvers (the reverse moves are non-basic).

As for the interaction with Cova Nell...that is open to debate. Lots of debate. We live in hope of an FAQ update/Official Rulings post settling the matter.

Ahhh yes, that makes sense about the reverse. Interesting that there’s a debate about Cora’s ability in conjunction with the R4. I can see it both ways for sure, but ultimately I lean towards the red maneuver was revealed as the text states for her ability.....THEN the R4 triggers. Thanks for the reply!

4 minutes ago, Copperblue74 said:

Ahhh yes, that makes sense about the reverse. Interesting that there’s a debate about Cora’s ability in conjunction with the R4. I can see it both ways for sure, but ultimately I lean towards the red maneuver was revealed as the text states for her ability.....THEN the R4 triggers. Thanks for the reply!

"Revealed maneuver" does not refer to whatever was on the dial at the moment it was revealed. It refers to the maneuver that is currently on the face-up dial. If you reveal a 2 straight and then later change your dial to a 2 bank, your revealed maneuver is a 2 bank.

Edited by Maui.
11 minutes ago, Maui. said:

"Revealed maneuver" does not refer to whatever was on the dial at the moment it was revealed. It refers to the maneuver that is currently on the face-up dial. If you reveal a 2 straight and then later change your dial to a 2 bank, your revealed maneuver is a 2 bank.

Which is... irrelevant to the question of Cova's ability, which is whether R4 makes the 1 turn white when Cova checks the colour of it when attacking/defending.

Just now, thespaceinvader said:

Which is... irrelevant to the question of Cova's ability, which is whether R4 makes the 1 turn white when Cova checks the colour of it when attacking/defending.

Agreed. I was responding to a post that seemed to misunderstand what was meant by "revealed maneuver."

5 hours ago, Copperblue74 said:

THEN the R4 triggers. Thanks for the reply!

There is no trigger on R4

There is no timing where it become active. It is always active.

Edited by muribundi
5 hours ago, AceDogbert said:

As for the interaction with Cova Nell...that is open to debate. Lots of debate. We live in hope of an FAQ update/Official Rulings post settling the matter.

It is not up for debate at all. Only one person did not agree and they stop arguing. The concensus seems way way more toward R4 being permanent. Like action granting effect change your action bar, R4 change your ship "wheel"

We have to accept that physical component can't be really changed and are just "guide" to play the game. R4 give you a new set of maneuver. But physically you can't have it

Edited by muribundi
1 hour ago, muribundi said:

It is not up for debate at all. Only one person did not agree and they stop arguing. The concensus seems way way more toward R4 being permanent. Like action granting effect change your action bar, R4 change your ship "wheel"

We have to accept that physical component can't be really changed and are just "guide" to play the game. R4 give you a new set of maneuver. But physically you can't have it

I stated my case in that thread, someone else stated theres. There was no point for me to continue a thread going back and forth vs one person.

R4 did work the way most people have stated, being a permanent effect, same as Nien crew, etc. But the NEW rules reference about your revealed dial is what is physically shown on your dial that is placed on your ship token, leaves the possibility of R4 and cova working, and changing the way r4 and Nien used to work. It would not be the first time a rule changes the way cards have been used and interact with pilot abilities. I think until a FAQ comes out, its open for debate.

This is in the same place as The Inquisitor back in 1st edition, when everyone was arguing if he bypasses autothrusters or not. All arguments were valid, but it took a FAQ to choose a side. That is where we are here. I understand R4 has no timing window, but RAW states your revealed dial is whatever is showing on your dial that is set on your pilot ship card, NOT whatever is on your dial and any effects that may alter it.

They actually went to the effort of including this into the rules so your revealed dial is your physical dial.

And I will just say that anyone who is on the side of r4 always on because he has no timing window, must also be on the Leia crew reducing the dial difficulty is always on because is has no end to her window. So people can have Cova + R4 not work, or the more broken combo of Leia permanently reducing difficulty more ships as your argument for R4 is also argument or Leia always on as well.

EDIT: Just realized this is a new R4 thread, lol. There is another thread I think in main forum about this same interaction. The fact that all these threads are starting means FFG needs a FAQ asap. Ugh!

Edited by wurms

The rules don't deal with all effects that alter them. That's not how exception based rule systems work.

Nothing in the rules for instance gives an option to remove stress after a red move. That doesn't stop Anakin or Nien working. I could go on and on and on.

R4 works whenever the ships manoeuvres of speed 1 or 2 are called on.