Failed action and "After you perform an action"

By GreenDragoon, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Following situation:

1) a ship with an ability like the TIE interceptor or A-wing: "After you perform an action, you may perform a red [Boost] or [Barrel Roll]red action.
2) Attempted an action that failed (e.g. boost/roll).

Can this ship now do its ship ability?

Reasons for Yes :

  • The failed action did resolve, by failing.
  • It is not a linked action.
  • It is not an ability that requires a completed action

Reasons for No :

  • It would be triggered by a specifically resolved action.

Relevant rules block: Fail

Some effects can fail, which means the effect did not resolve as intended and instead is resolved in a default way.

  • A ship can fail when it barrel rolls, boosts, coordinates, decloaks, deploys, jams, locks, or SLAMs.
  • An effect that fails does not trigger any effects that would occur after a ship resolves that effect.
  • If an action fails, the player does not choose a different action to perform and cannot choose to resolve the effect in a different way.
  • If an action fails, since the action was not completed, that ship cannot perform a linked action.
  • If a red action fails, the ship still gains a stress token.

No. Failing an action is not performing an action, because you failed to perform it.

Rules Reference pg 11

Quote

* An effect that fails does not trigger any effects that would occur after a ship resolves that effect.

* If an action fails, since the action was not completed, that ship cannot perform a linked action.

So, you kinda answered your own question.

As for this..

Quote

S ome effects can fail, which means the effect did not resolve as intended and instead is resolved in a default way.

Yea. The intended result of an action is you perform it. The "instead" is you fail it.

Edited by Lyianx

Thanks, I was pretty sure there's no other action, but wasn't sure enough.