Rules: Skill Cards clarifications

By Pete_Steel, in Arkham Horror: The Card Game

While playing the core as we are newbies, some basic questions have come up about Skill Cards:

1. When are "skill cards" played? Do they cost an action like an event or asset?

2. When a "skill card" is used to during a skill test for the agent that played the card, do they get discarded after use or do they stay in play?

3. Can "skill cards" be used to stack? If I have two different "skill cards" with the same icon such as the fist for attack? (each one gives me a +1)

4. If a single "skill card" has two of the same icon, unless otherwise stated, does it count as a +2?

Edited by Pete_Steel

1. They are committed to skill tests after you've declared that you are performing the test and before you draw the chaos token. They do not cost an action.

2. The card does get discarded.

3. Yes you can commit multiple cards to a skill test.

4. Yes.

Edited by Antimarkovnikov
8 minutes ago, Antimarkovnikov said:

1. They are committed to skill tests after you've declared that you are performing the test and before you draw the chaos token. They do not cost an action.

2. The card does get discarded.

3. Yes you can commit multiple cards to a skill test.

4. Yes.

Antimarkovnikov, thank you for the information. Just need a little more clarification on #1, when "skill cards" are drawn from your "Draw Deck" either at the beginning of the scenario or during normal play, can they be laid down to get them out of your hand?

Skill cards are not played from a player’s hand . In order to resolve
their abilities, skill cards must be committed to a skill test.

1. to make sure they don't count for the maximum number of cards that are in your hand

2. to stay within the rules that the cards are not played from you hand

Thanks for your help

Skills aren't ever "played" and put into play, as the rule says. The important thing to note is that committing to a test is different from playing them. You commit them directly from your hand to a skill test, and they get discarded when the test finishes. So they have to stay in your hand until you use them during a test.

Also, a note on 3. - You can commit multiple cards to a skill test you are taking, but you can only commit one to a test a different player is taking.

Hope that's clear.

Edited by jaqenZann
18 minutes ago, jaqenZann said:

Skills aren't ever "played" and put into play, as the rule says. The important thing to note is that committing to a test is different from playing them. You commit them directly from your hand to a skill test, and they get discarded when the test finishes. So they have to stay in your hand until you use them during a test.

Also, a note on 3. - You can commit multiple cards to a skill test you are taking, but you can only commit one to a test a different player is taking.

Hope that's clear.

jaqenZann, thank you for your information.

You may find this video helpful:

If it is the actual skill test which is causing you problems, i.e. you need help understanding the difference between playing a card and committing a card perhaps this video will be of more assistance to you. Do let us know if they were helpful. Skill tests are the most talked about topic so don't worry, you are not alone. :)