DBS-404 ability

By Jedu, in X-Wing Rules Questions

You can perform primary attacks at range 0. While you perform an attack at range 0-1, you must roll 1 additional die. After the attack hits, suffer 1 critical damage.

I'm not a native language speaker, so correct me if I'm wrong. The way I (wishfully) see it, DBS-404 takes critical damage only, if it attacks at range 0-1.

This is because in the first sentence, there is specified "an attack at range 0-1". So it concerns any attack at range 0-1.

BUT on the other hand, the second sentence, I think, is linked with the first sentence and refers to the first sentence and the hypothesis/conditions, which is/are specified therein.

I interpret it that way also and mainly, because in the second sentence specifies, that " after THE attack hits". Not " an attack", but " the attack". So, it does not refer to any attack performed by this ship, but only to attacks, which meet the conditions specified in the first sentence. Namely, attacks performed at range 0-1. Only then, after attacks at range 0-1, DBS-404 should suffer 1 crit. After attacks at range 2-3, the crit shouldn't be applied.

This is really important, as the translation into other languages could lose the real meaning of this ability. Using the definite and the indefinite articles (the, a/an) is quite hard for non native English speakers ;)

Correct.


The first sentence is entirely independent. The last depends on the second, i.e. you only take the crit whilst attacking at r0-1.

latest?cb=20190513171202

;)

That's great, thanks a lot!

All they had to do was to use ' ; ' instead of ' . ' between ' die ' and ' after '. No confusion would arise.