Naboo Handmaiden

By Tvboy, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Can you place the Decoy condition on another Naboo Handmaiden? So can the handmaidens protect each other? The grammar makes it sound like the restriction is only self-referential, otherwise it would say "other than a Naboo Handmaiden".

Setup: After placing forces, assign the Decoyed condition to 1 friendly ship other than Naboo Handmaiden .

No, they can't, you would be assigning the condition to Naboo Handmaiden, if you assigned it to the other one.

It doesn't stop being Naboo Handmaiden just because it's not you.

No. You may not place the Decoyed condition on any ship named Naboo Handmaiden.

Additionally, the condition is unique, so two Handmaidens still only protect one ship.

Decoy is in fact unique, which is not noted on any of the squad builders, that does kill it. Too bad, 44 seems way overcosted for an I1 2 attack ship compared to Biggs. Would've been fun to load two of them with torps and passive sensors protecting each other. Guess it's just meant for fluff.

No you put it on another ship and it now has two guaranteed evades if it's in the right place. If it's a n1 it has two added evades.

In what possible world is that just fluff?!

25 minutes ago, Tvboy said:

Decoy is in fact unique, which is not noted on any of the squad builders, that does kill it. Too bad, 44 seems way overcosted for an I1 2 attack ship compared to Biggs. Would've been fun to load two of them with torps and passive sensors protecting each other. Guess it's just meant for fluff.

Two Handmaidens provide double the effect for the targeted ship.

I'd love to see how durable Padme with two of these at her side...

It's not that strange to sometimes omit an article in English.

Example: I used to go to school . My relative just got out of prison . Generally, the times when it's omitted are when it doesn't matter which version of the thing we're talking about. It doesn't necessarily matter which school or which prison. The concept of the institution is more important than the particular one.

Now, when a specific school is meant in the conversation, it's often put back in. Let's take a walk in the trails near the school . From the context, I'd be describing a particular school when I was suggesting the walk.

I guess it doesn't seem too unusual that it say "other than Naboo Handmaiden " and omits "a." Particularly given the fact that it's bolded and treated as a keyword.

6 hours ago, AceDogbert said:

Two Handmaidens provide double the effect for the targeted ship.

I'd love to see how durable Padme with two of these at her side...

It’s basically just another version of the Biggs effect, but I’m not convinced it’s and ability that is worth 10 points and a downgrade to I1. Guess we’ll see with time, maybe I’m wrong. I will be flying plenty of N1s because I’ve loved the ship since I was nine years old.

Edited by Tvboy

I mean, Biggs is boring, but Biggs is pretty good.

Okay I did not realize that Padme actually protects other ships around her with her ability and also powers up other friendly ships Jukes, thought it was just for her own attacks and defense. Wow that is powerful, okay maybe protecting her with the Handmaiden is actually worth it.

The first half of Decoy also works with Sprites, ARCs & Torrents. The second half only works with N-1s. It would be nice if Decoy could let 1 or more Handmaidens spend their evade tokens to give evades out to ships that are not N-1s (Giving an ARC extra evade dice would be awesome)

I'm little bit confused with Decoyed condition Card. How exactly the Decoyed condition works?

swz40_decoyed.png

"in the attack arc" which attack arc? The attack arc of Handmaiden, the attack arc of the ship that is Decoyed or attack ark of the attacker?

According to this picture from FFG's preview New Tricks it is the first option - the attack arc of Handmaiden or the attacker.

swz40_diagram2_a1.jpg

But according to the condition card it should be attack arc of the ship that is Decoyed.

Thanks for any help.

Edited by Const.ex

There is a difference between an Attack Arc and a Firing Arc. The Attack Arc is the arc being used in the current active attack. Only the attacker has an attack arc during an attack.

In the screenshot, the handmaidens can use their ability because they are in the arc of Grievous while he is attacking. If Grievous was somehow using a bullseye only weapon in this attack (like Autoblasters), neither of the handmaidens would be in the attack arc and so would not be able to use their ability.

1 minute ago, Something Wicked said:

There is a difference between an Attack Arc and a Firing Arc. The Attack Arc is the arc being used in the current active attack. Only the attacker has an attack arc during an attack.

In the screenshot, the handmaidens can use their ability because they are in the arc of Grievous while he is attacking. If Grievous was somehow using a bullseye only weapon in this attack (like Autoblasters), neither of the handmaidens would be in the attack arc and so would not be able to use their ability.

Thank you! 👍 😉