if i encounter 2 creatures on a space and i play dominate on the bigger one, do i have to use it to battle the other creature?. it says to use in your next battle. i can see this one going either way since technically youve began the process of encountering the cards, but you havent battled yet.
domination spell
Similar question:
What happens when the Minstrel encounter on the same space an Animal and a non-Animal Enemy?
the minstrel chooses which animals and/or dragons he doesnt wish to fight, then fights the rest,,,unless he takes an animal for a follower, in which case he can add its str to whatever battle is left.
i want to know which is the next battle to satisfy dominations text
It would depend on the timing of the dominate. If you play it before you "encounter" the monsters (as in the royal decree's timing of "about to encounter"), then yes, you would have to use the dominated monster immediately. If you encounter the monsters and then play dominate, no you would not have to use it right away. According to page 10 of the rulebook, "Battles occur when: 1. A character encounters an Enemy...". So since you used dominate after battle had occurred, your NEXT battle is not the one you are in.
darthmax said:
if i encounter 2 creatures on a space and i play dominate on the bigger one, do i have to use it to battle the other creature?. it says to use in your next battle. i can see this one going either way since technically youve began the process of encountering the cards, but you havent battled yet.
Since "before you engage in battle" implies that you're not in the battle already, your next battle is against the remaining Enemy. Next is not referred to the battle you might have avoided but to the time of spellcasting.