Hello,
I have a question about Collector Worm: if the creature Collector Worm fights is destroyed, does Collector Worm's " fight: " ability still resolve ? Rules are unclear and seems to contradict itself:
1. ABILITY, CARD ABILITY An ability is the special game text a card contributes to the game. unless an ability explicitly references an out-of-play area (such as a hand, deck, archives, or discard pile), that ability can only interact with cards that are in play.
2. LEAVES PLAY When a card moves from an in–play zone to an out-of-play zone in which the identities of cards are hidden from the opponent (such as a player’s hand, deck, or archives), any pending effects that are currently or about to interact with that card no longer do so, unless a card effect explicitly states that it interacts with that zone.
As the discard pile (where the creature Collector Worm fights goes if he destroy it) is not an out-of-play zone in which the identities of cards are hidden from the opponent, what happens exactly? Is the creature still archived or not?
Thanks !