Obi-Wan vs. Vader crew habilities

By Halthay, in X-Wing Rules Questions

If a game effect intructs a ship to remove a focus token (like Vader crew), can Obi-Wan spend a force for that ship gain a focus token?

Vader says:At the start of the Engagement Phase, you may choose 1 ship in your firing arc at range 0-2 and spend 1 h. If you do, that ship suffers 1 d damage unless it chooses to remove 1 green token.

Obi-Wan says:After a friendly ship at range 0-2 spends a focus token, you may spend 1 h. If you do, that ship gains 1 focus token.

Obi-wan requires you to spend a focus token. If you choose to remove a focus token to satisfy Vader's ability, then it is removed and not spent, and you can't use Obi-wan's ability to gain another one.

[insert "your powers are weak, old man" meme here]

45 minutes ago, Maui. said:

[insert  "your  powers are weak, old man" meme here]

Happy to oblige.

SevereTallIndigobunting-size_restricted.