Bossk and Greeno gunner trigger window

By missileaway, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Ran into this last night. I erred on the side of caution, but did I miss a chance to add another crit (or stop the cascade of crits that came in the return fire?)

Bossk (with Greedo gunner) fires an unmodded shot. Rolls two natural crits. After neutralize results step (opponent rolls two blanks) I use Bossk's ability to turn one crit into two hits. Could Greedo gunner then have triggered and turned one of those two hits into a crit? I figured no, because Greedo would need to trigger before neutralizing results. It didn't make much difference in the game as a badly wounded Bossk would have died in the return fire even without the subsequent crits but just wanted to know for the future.

What say you?

Bossk: While you perform a primary attack, after the Neutralize Results step, you may spend 1 critical hit result to add 2 hit results.

Greedo:

While you perform an attack, you may spend 1 charge to change 1 hit result to a critical hit result.

While you defend, if your charge is active, the attacker may change 1 hit result to a critical hit result.

No. Unless the timing is specified otherwise (as Bossk does) modifications to attack and defence dice take place during the relevant Modify Dice step. By the time you're using Bossk, you've missed the chance to use Greedo.

(This is a change from 1e, where Greedo could change a Bossk hit to deal a faceup card)

2 - Attack Dice

2.a - Defender Modifies Attack Dice

2.b - Attacker Modifies Attack Dice - Greedo happens here, within step 2.b .

3 - Defense Dice

3.a - Attacker modifies Defense Dice

3.b - Defender modifised Defense Dice

4 - Neutralize Results

Bossk happens here, between 4 and 5.

5 - Deal damage

(RR, Attack, p.4-5)

*edit* It's a shame there isn't a nice flowchart picture anymore. I miss being able to refer to the flowchart.

Edited by theBitterFig

Thanks folks! Glad I did it right.