Arcs, not ARCs

By feltipern1, in X-Wing

It bothers me that there's so much discussion on ship arcs spread over so many topics, so I thought I'd post my parsing of the problems.

1) Front arc - indicated by the 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg symbol, this designates both the forward-facing arc of a ship (for orientation purposes) as well as the symbol describing the attack arc from which primary front-arc attacks are made and from which special front-arc attacks are made when indicated in the card. If a card uses this symbol, it means that the target of the check must use the front arc. If the words "front arc" are used, the condition of whether or not the front arc also has a primary weapon value or a primary attack is irrelevant.

2) Rear arc - indicated by the 1583421805_reararcsymbol.jpg.5ca024f29cf9a3a85c700479b866f07c.jpg symbol, this designates both the rear-facing arc of a ship (for orientation purposes) as well as the symbol describing the attack arc from which rear-arc primary attacks are made and from which special rear-arc attacks are made when indicated in the card. If a card uses this symbol, it means that the target of the check must use the rear arc. If the words "rear arc" are used, the condition of whether or not the rear arc also has a primary weapon value or a primary attack is irrelevant.

3) Bullseye arc - indicated by the 857359380_bullseyearcsymbol.jpg.e813b142f686a2247a912661786db3c4.jpg symbol, this designates a specific arc within the front arc only, from which certain special attacks may be made, within which the target must fall when checking for "bullseye arc" triggers, and which is referred to on several Talent cards, among other things. A card that checks for "bullseye arc" or uses the 857359380_bullseyearcsymbol.jpg.e813b142f686a2247a912661786db3c4.jpg symbol checks for both presence in the front arc and presence in the bullseye arc.

4) Side arc - indicated by the 1117302041_sidearcsymbols.jpg.f13aa3a389adbaca919dbe48e555dfea.jpg symbols, this designates both the left- or right-side facing arc of a ship (for orientation purposes) as well as the symbol describing the attack arc from which side-arc primary attacks are made. In addition, any card that references friendly or enemy ships and uses these symbols will be checking for presence in either the left- or right-facing arcs of a ship.

5) Front arc or rear arc primary weapons - front arc or rear arc primary weapons (which are also primary attacks ) are indicated by this set of symbols: 46603559_frontarcreararcprimaries.jpg.0dee33afe29dfa192d75dd836bbc32b7.jpg and any card that requires a front arc primary attack or a rear arc primary attack will look for these symbols on a card. In addition, when a card refers to the target of a primary weapon, it also assumes that the target is in one of the primary weapon arcs. The 180 degree arc found on certain ships includes a front arc, and can use any secondary weapons that also use a front arc. It does not include the rear arc. * Questioning this given some comments below.

6) Single turret arc primary weapons - Single turret arc primary weapons (which are also primary attacks ) are indicated by this symbol: 1154273919_singlearcturretprimary.jpg.90741e5fe1a76b1c31dd67200bb495b7.jpg and any card that refers to a turret primary attack or a turret arc would check for this symbol on a card. On the ship base, this is indicated by a movable turret arc indicator , which indicates both the arc from which a primary attack can be made, (whether 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg , 1583421805_reararcsymbol.jpg.5ca024f29cf9a3a85c700479b866f07c.jpg , 1117302041_sidearcsymbols.jpg.f13aa3a389adbaca919dbe48e555dfea.jpg ) as well as the direction in which the arc is facing. Thus, any cards that refer to "in a friendly ship's 206074375_turretarcsymbol.jpg.a15b00fbc4c3ccf5813648e3c7be62c8.jpg will check any and all turret positions for friendly ships. Ships whose abilities trigger when performing front-arc attacks (not 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg attacks) will only benefit from those abilities if the turret arc indicator is also in the front arc, meaning that the attack is being made from the front arc, even though it's being made by a turret. Single turret-arc ships, in order to take advantage of something like Veteran Turret Gunner's ability, would have to find some way of changing the arc from which the attack is made before making the second attack.

7) Double turret arc primary weapons - Double turret arc primary weapons (which are also primary attacks ) are indicated by this symbol: 842517396_doubleturretsymbol.jpg.05959db84ab5d139840e7b15e4400f24.jpg and any card that refers to a turret primary attack or a turret arc would check for this symbol on a card. On a ship base, this is indicated by a movable turret arc indicator , which indicates both the arcs from which a turret-arc attack can be made (whether 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg , 1583421805_reararcsymbol.jpg.5ca024f29cf9a3a85c700479b866f07c.jpg , 1117302041_sidearcsymbols.jpg.f13aa3a389adbaca919dbe48e555dfea.jpg ) as well as the directions in which the arcs are facing. Any cards that refer to "in a friendly ship's 206074375_turretarcsymbol.jpg.a15b00fbc4c3ccf5813648e3c7be62c8.jpg will check any and all turret positions for friendly ships indicated by both single turret arcs (as in the Resistance RZ-2 A-Wing) or by double turret arcs (as in the Resistance Bomber). Any cards that allow you to make bonus attacks from different turret arcs will check whether a turret arc indicator has been in or is in any of the front, rear, or side arcs already this turn. If it has already been in the arc from which you're making the attack (as indicated by the turret arc indicator), it must either also or then be in a different, separate arc to take advantage of the bonus attack. Additionally, double turret-arc ships can fire in two directions already, so they would be able to make two distinct attacks, one from each turret arc, or would be able to make two attacks from different turret arcs if the arc indicator could be rotated between arcs, as in the case of Veteran Turret Gunner + Paige Tico.

If a card refers to "making a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg attack", then to me, the ship must be firing from its front arc, using a front-arc primary or special attack. If a card refers to whether something is "in your front arc", it means that all you are checking is orientation.

If a card changes the arc from which an attack can be made (i.e. Krassis Trellix, which spurred this post), it does not change any other conditions of the attack except the orientation from which the attack can be made. To me, Trellix's ability allows you to fire 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg -oriented special weapons from your rear arc. It does not change the arc check for any other purpose (including Outmaneuver's use of the 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg ). It is both straightforward and simple.

Edited by feltipern1

ARCS!?

60814847_10161757700190142_7650102203247

default card default card

Enormous card images posted for posterity.

There is nothing approaching consensus on the interaction between these two cards re: whether Outmaneuver triggers on a rear arc special attack from Krassis. Here is a (hopefully brief) summary of the argument for why Krassis can use Outmaneuver on rear arc special attacks.

It's important to note that Outmaneuver does not trigger against opponents who are simply in your front arc, as front arc attacks using a turret weapon cannot use Outmaneuver--they are performing a turret attack, not a front arc attack. Because of this, we understand that Outmaneuver doesn't actually care where your opponent is; its only condition is that you are performing a [front arc icon] attack.

The Krassis Trellix ability allows you to perform [front arc icon] special attacks from your [rear arc]. Taken exactly as written, this means that the special attack is a [front arc] attack that is happening against an enemy ship in your rear firing arc.

The ability does not appear to change the attack's characteristics, it merely allows you to use said attack from an unusual arc. Contrast with the TIE/sf:

default card

This ship ability explicitly changes the [front arc] on missile upgrades to [turret arc], meaning that a TIE/sf can never proc Outmaneuver with a missile upgrade, even when firing them from the front arc. The Krassis ability does not change any of the attack's characteristics. The attack therefore remains a [front arc] attack, and so can make use of Outmaneuver.

I will agree that this feels somewhat counterintuitive, and I wouldn't be surprised if FFG came out and ruled that Krassis can't Outmaneuver rear arc special attacks. However, given the way the two cards are written, I think the interpretation that Krassis/Outmaneuver works has more merit.

2 minutes ago, Maui. said:

[The TIE /sf] ship ability explicitly changes the [front arc] on missile upgrades to [turret arc], meaning that a TIE/sf can never proc Outmaneuver with a missile upgrade, even when firing them from the front arc. The Krassis ability does not change any of the attack's characteristics. The attack therefore remains a [front arc] attack, and so can make use of Outmaneuver.

I will agree that this feels somewhat counterintuitive, and I wouldn't be surprised if FFG came out and ruled that Krassis can't Outmaneuver rear arc special attacks. However, given the way the two cards are written, I think the interpretation that Krassis/Outmaneuver works has more merit.

I agree with this. Outmaneuver Krassis has a silly and rules-lawyer-y feel to it, but I think it's correct based on the rules, and due to consistency with the SF. I don't like it, but I think it's the best reading of the text of these cards, when compared to the text of other similar cards.

For more contrast, if Krassis had an alternate text: "You may treat your 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b060 special attacks as 1583421805_reararcsymbol.jpg.5ca024f29cf attacks" then I'd be 100% behind No-Outmaneuver. Outmaneuver, basically, seems to care *not* about where the defender is, but what weapon the attacker using. With Krassis, he's still using a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b060 weapon, it just gets to ignore the normal restrictions of that firing arc.

An example of a card which doesn't care about the kind of attack (be it 1154273919_singlearcturretprimary.jpg.90 or 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b060 or 857359380_bullseyearcsymbol.jpg.e813b142 ) is Punishing One . There's a really different wording to this card and to Outmaneuver. If Outmaneuver were worded like Punishing One , Krassis again would be 100% No-Outmaneuver.

latest?cb=20180915003005

Don't forget the Auzituk and VY-666's 180 arc.

2 hours ago, ficklegreendice said:

ARCS!?

60814847_10161757700190142_7650102203247

You are a disgrace for not painting your Rebel ARCs upon purchase in 1st edition. A true son of the Republic wouldn't need to be reminded.

1 hour ago, player3010587 said:

You are a disgrace for not painting your Rebel ARCs upon purchase in 1st edition. A true son of the Republic wouldn't need to be reminded.

He also apparently has multiple Republic ARCs, but uses his Rebel models instead. Odd.

19 hours ago, MegaSilver said:

Don't forget the Auzituk and VY-666's 180 arc.

From my original post:

"The 180 degree arc found on certain ships includes a front arc, and can use any secondary weapons that also use a front arc. It does not include the rear arc."

*The 180-degree arc issue has been shelved for the time being.

Edited by feltipern1
11 minutes ago, feltipern1 said:

From my original post:

"The 180 degree arc found on certain ships includes a front arc, and can use any secondary weapons that also use a front arc. It does not include the rear arc."

Well, the 180 arc technically doesn't include a front arc. Aka Outmaneuver doesn't work on the VY and Auzituck.

Quote

Ships whose abilities trigger when performing front-arc attacks (not 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg attacks)   will only benefit from those abilities if the turret arc indicator is also in the front arc 

When is a front-arc attack not a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg attack? And what abilities would trigger on a front-arc attack? I can't recall actually seeing any card abilities that reference any arcs by name.

6 minutes ago, MegaSilver said:

Well, the 180 arc technically doesn't include a front arc. Aka Outmaneuver doesn't work on the VY and Auzituck.

Exactly what I was going to post. The relevant FAQ entry is on page 26 of the 1.0.3 Rules Reference. Also note that Outmaneuver doesn't work on Turret Primary weapons like on the YT-1300 or the Decimator, since those don't also have front arcs.

2 hours ago, player3010587 said:

You are a disgrace for not painting your Rebel ARCs upon purchase in 1st edition. A true son of the Republic wouldn't need to be reminded.

Rebel arc looks better 😎

Just now, joeshmoe554 said:

When is a front-arc attack not a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg attack? And what abilities would trigger on a front-arc attack? I can't recall actually seeing any card abilities that reference any arcs by name.

Outmanuver and Fearless: "While you perform a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg attack..." and "While you perform a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg primary attack..."

vs Punishing One: “While you perform a primary attack, if the defender is in your 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg …”

A turret arc can point to the front arc, but it is a turret arc attack, not a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg attack. The only 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg attacks are if the 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg symbol is above the attack value of the ship card or next to the attack value on the upgrade card (like Ion Cannon).

Just now, MegaSilver said:

Well, the 180 arc technically doesn't include a front arc. Aka Outmaneuver doesn't work on the VY and Auzituck.

To me, that reads that they don't include a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg.16da762545aafe97850861ae70f27c80.jpg symbol, since the arc is 180 degrees, although they do include a front arc (words). The arc and attack are represented in this way: 1082159500_fullfrontarc.jpg.70fa0f26b7420893ca30c686c0d7a6a6.jpg . It's fairly evident to me that the 90-degree angle is specific to the symbol 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg.16da762545aafe97850861ae70f27c80.jpg , while the full arc markedly uses a different symbol, which does beg the question "should the YV-666 be able to make 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg.16da762545aafe97850861ae70f27c80.jpg special attacks, since it doesn't have a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg.16da762545aafe97850861ae70f27c80.jpg symbol?" That would kind of eliminate the use of missiles or any cannons on the YV. A different question, for a different time!

2 minutes ago, joeshmoe554 said:

When is a front-arc attack not a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg attack? And what abilities would trigger on a front-arc attack? I can't recall actually seeing any card abilities that reference any arcs by name.

That's the question that seems to be bugging a majority of the RAW crowd in other threads. I think I might have conflated "front arc" with "firing arc", though, since the examples that I was going to give all use that wording, as I checked through them, and there is a difference between front arc, firing arc, and 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg.16da762545aafe97850861ae70f27c80.jpg . Good call.

1 hour ago, feltipern1 said:

From my original post:

"The 180 degree arc found on certain ships includes a front arc, and can use any secondary weapons that also use a front arc. It does not include the rear arc."

I'm trying to understand what you are meaning here and I think you're mixing up two things. Special weapons have their own separate attack arc, they don't use the ship's arc inherently. A ship could have no arc (the red value/symbol printed on the SHIP card) - no front, no 180, no turret, etc and still be able to use a torpedo or missile or turret upgrade card because those upgrades have the arc. This is why ships that have only a turret primary arc (RZ-2 A-Wing comes to mind) can use missiles - the turret primary arc on the RZ-2 doesn't have to be faced forward in order for the ship to shoot some prockets out the front.

59 minutes ago, feltipern1 said:

which does beg the question "should the YV-666 be able to make 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg.16da762545aafe97850861ae70f27c80.jpg special attacks, since it doesn't have a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg.16da762545aafe97850861ae70f27c80.jpg symbol?" That would kind of eliminate the use of missiles or any cannons on the YV. A different question, for a different time!

The YV-666 can absolutely make "special attacks". Remember, special attacks are any attack that isn't printed on the ship card (AKA Primary Attack). Torpedoes, missiles, cannons, and turrets (from upgrade cards) are all special attacks. Snap Shot will be a special attack because the attack comes from the upgrade card. What the YV-666 CAN'T do is fire a missile perpendicular to the way it is facing (as it is able to with its primary attack) because the missile card does not have that arc, it has a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg.16da762545aafe97850861ae70f27c80.jpg .

The 180 degree arc is 100% different and separate from the standard 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg.16da762545aafe97850861ae70f27c80.jpg front arc. The 180 degree arc, while it encompasses the front edge/arc of the ship, does not include a front arc attack. This is why Outmaneuver and Fearless, etc don't work on the Auzituck et al. With this knowledge Krassis's ability also will not allow him to shoot an HLC out the back because HLC is not a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg.16da762545aafe97850861ae70f27c80.jpg special attack, it is a bullseye special attack.

Hopefully these clarifications help somebody since I felt like I was kind of writing and clarifying things to questions that may not have been asked.

Edited by Skitch_
To avoid confusion
2 minutes ago, Skitch_ said:

When any ship with primary attack that ISN'T the V makes an attack out the front arc of the ship - turreted ships, YV-666, etc.

Ok, I don't consider that to be a front-arc attack or a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg attack, but rather an attack made against a ship that is in the 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg . So that is probably why that piece confused me.

7 minutes ago, joeshmoe554 said:

Ok, I don't consider that to be a front-arc attack or a 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg attack, but rather an attack made against a ship that is in the 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg . So that is probably why that piece confused me.

Well, I think people sometimes use "front-arc" to describe two different things because it is just easier and faster sometimes. I'm not saying you are wrong because you are right - the 180 arc, primary turret shots out the front, etc are not 2051426364_frontarcsymbol.jpg.b0a464b06062340548771f0a90692547.jpg attacks.

Again, I may have misunderstood your question and tried to answer something that wasn't asked. I will edit my post to remove that confusing answer.

Edited by Skitch_

Obligatory note that it would have REALLY HELPED if they had used different symbols for location versus arc type.

The distinction between Outmanoeuvre and P1 is that one is which arc is being used, and the other is where the target is located.

47 minutes ago, ficklegreendice said:

Rebel arc looks better 😎

🖖 👁️ 👄 👁️ 🖕

💣 🔪

i find your lack of 170 disturbing

TLBYhRlh.jpg

Edited by Managarmr
link fix

Just a tad confusing.

Krassis can perform special attacks from his rear arc but does Outmanoeuvre make a primary attack a special attack?

He isn't treating his rear arc as a front arc, he's performing a special attack from it.

Honestly, I haven't the foggiest clue but I'd lean towards an Outmanoeuvre primary being a normal attack and therefore not available out of Krassis' buttgun.

18 hours ago, feltipern1 said:

3) Bullseye arc - indicated by the 857359380_bullseyearcsymbol.jpg.e813b142f686a2247a912661786db3c4.jpg symbol, this designates a specific arc within the front arc only, from which certain special attacks may be made, within which the target must fall when checking for "bullseye arc" triggers, and which is referred to on several Talent cards, among other things. A card that checks for "bullseye arc" or uses the 857359380_bullseyearcsymbol.jpg.e813b142f686a2247a912661786db3c4.jpg symbol checks for both presence in the front arc and presence in the bullseye arc.

Note that at least one previewed ship (the Nantex) uses 24?cb=20180905025238 for it's primary weapon; it doesn't have a full front arc.

But yes, it's impossible to have 24?cb=20180905025238 without also having 24?cb=20180905025540 since one is a subset of the other.

I'd agree with @Maui. - Outmaneuver is explicitely concerned with whether you're firing a normally 24?cb=20180905025540 weapon, not whether the target is inside your 24?cb=20180905025540 , and Krassis allows you to fire a weapon out of a different arc, rather than changing the arc (the TIE/sf changes the arc of the weapon so you can't fire a missile forwards when the turret is pointing backwards). So as a combination it works.

Similarly @Skitch_ is correct that a Nantex or Auzituck couldn't use Fearless or Outmaneuver, as their primary weapons aren't 24?cb=20180905025540 attacks.

25 minutes ago, Cuz05 said:

Just a tad confusing.

Krassis can perform special attacks from his rear arc but does Outmanoeuvre make a primary attack a special attack?

He isn't treating his rear arc as a front arc, he's performing a special attack from it.

Honestly, I haven't the foggiest clue but I'd lean towards an Outmanoeuvre primary being a normal attack and therefore not available out of Krassis' buttgun.

No. A primary attack remains a primary attack no matter what rules are attached to it. But Outmaneuver doesn't require a primary attack (unlike Predator or Crack Shot) just a 24?cb=20180905025540 attack.

So Krassis can't Outmaneuver you in his 24?cb=20180905025540 with his primary weapons but can with an Ion Cannon or Tractor Beam, which are special attacks.

Specifically: image.png.26aff0da4189795194320a882d4636

Use the left one for atatck type, use the right one for position.

It's currently unambiguous, but the fact that they use the same symbol makes it really unclear in practice.

16 hours ago, Skitch_ said:

Hopefully these clarifications help somebody since I felt like I was kind of writing and clarifying things to questions that may not have been asked.

That's the purpose of the thread!

7 hours ago, thespaceinvader said:

Specifically: image.png.26aff0da4189795194320a882d4636

Use the left one for atatck type, use the right one for position.

It's currently unambiguous, but the fact that they use the same symbol makes it really unclear in practice.

So which would Krassis use for the rear arc? Since her rear arc is referring to the attack arc, not the attack type or the opponent's position.