Helper Bot - Wild Wormhole Interaction

By Gaukli, in KeyForge

Helper Bot says:

Quote

Play: You may play one non-Logos card this turn.

Wild Wormhole says:

Quote

Play: Play the top card of your deck.

Here is the situation:

1. Play Helper Bot

2. Play Wild Wormhole

3. Wild Workmhole plays a non-logos card (in my game: Brobnar)

Can you still play another non-logos card? Or is this slot filled with the card played by Wild Wormhole?

We were unsure. My opponent allowed me to play another non-logos card. How would you judge this?

Technically you played a non-Logos card after WW, so I guess you couldn’t play another. Best way to circumvent is to play your non-Logos card before WW. You could also play WW before Helper Bot, but then you run into the same problem I think?

4 hours ago, Palpster said:

You could also play WW before Helper Bot, but then you run into the same problem I think?

Not sure how since there's nothing about cards getting "back-dated."

If any non-logos card played during a turn fulfilled the phase shift/helper bot requirement, then the loop decks wouldn't work since they depended on multiple phase shifts playing things like keycharge.

45 minutes ago, Simplegarak said:

Not sure how since there's nothing about cards getting "back-dated."

If any non-logos card played during a turn fulfilled the phase shift/helper bot requirement, then the loop decks wouldn't work since they depended on multiple phase shifts playing things like keycharge.

That makes sense

You played it correctly. The card played by Wild Wormhole is a separate effect from Helper Bot and does not satisfy it.

See also the FAQ ruling in the Rules Reference for Phase Shift.

If you want to go a step further this also means that if you are first player and you play Helper Bot on the first turn you can play a second card as well, as the first turn rule is being modified by card effects (per the ruling on Phase Shift). We can debate all day if it's a good move or not but it is good to know your options.

Hope that helps. Helper Bot (and phase shift) are pretty interesting cards!

That’s a very liberal reading of the Phase Shift FAQ, but could be true that it is intended that way.

I think it's the same principle. If the first non-Logos card doesn't resolve both Phase Shifts played I believe it is more than reasonable to deduce that a card played off the top of your deck by Wild Wormhole doesn't resolve it either.

Thank you very much for your thoughts! Until somebody explains why the analogy to the phase shift ruling does not apply in this case I will follow Spitfire's interpretation.

The FAQ in Question, FYI

Rulebook ver 1.3, Page 26

I have chosen house Logos to be my active house this turn and play a Phase Shift (COTA 117) then play another copy of Phase Shift. How many non-Logos cards can I play this turn?

You can play two non-Logos cards this turn. Each copy of Phase Shift that you play allows you to play an additional non-Logos card.