Destroy Them All vs. Biomatrix Backup

By bornfattom23, in KeyForge

Had this one come up tonight: if my opponent has a creature with a Biomatrix Backup and I play Destroy Them All, what happens if I target their creature and the Backup? Three possibilities:

1. I'm the active player, so I make timing choices. I can target the Backup first, destroy it and then destroy the creature.

2. The destruction must resolve in the order listed on the card, so the creature has to go first triggering the Backup ( and forcing me to Target a different Upgrade, if one exists).

3. All the destruction happens simultaneously, so the Backup will trigger, but the Backup will be destroyed and no other Upgrade needs to be targeted.

What's the right answer to this?

Interesting question. I’d lean toward answer 3, but not sure.

I'm leaning towards #2 but #1 is my other pick. IIRC everything happens in order on a card but maybe they're going to flex on that rule.

They have ruled that damage and destruction from effects are simultaneous. The creature would be destroyed at the same time as the biomatrix back-up, so the Backup is in play as long as the creature is. The creature gets archived.

Actually I'd lean towards 2, damage is dealt simultaneous but this isn't damage, you are doing the effects in order of the card. That is my opinion at least and if I were judging a game that is how I'd rule at this point.

5 hours ago, dpuck1998 said:

Actually I'd lean towards 2, damage is dealt simultaneous but this isn't damage, you are doing the effects in order of the card. That is my opinion at least and if I were judging a game that is how I'd rule at this point.

I would agree with you if the card read ‘destroy a creature. Destroy an artifact. Destroy an upgrade.’ , but it doesn’t it reads ‘destroy a creature, an artifact and an upgrade’ which to me means they all happen at the same time.

I would say three. The problem with number two is that the card says "and" not "then". If it had said "destroy an artifact, then a creature, then an upgrade" then the order would matter. Since it doesn't I lean towards number three. Since it is all coming from one card they would happen simultaneously.

So they're essentially all targeted simultaneously and then all destroyed simultaneously? If that's the case, a better text for the card would be "Choose a creature, an upgrade, and an artifact. Destroy all cards chosen".

4 hours ago, bornfattom23 said:

So they're essentially all targeted simultaneously and then all destroyed simultaneously? If that's the case, a better text for the card would be "Choose a creature, an upgrade, and an artifact. Destroy all cards chosen".

But that would make too much sense and then it couldn't be an FFG game :P

https://timeshapers.com/2019/06/17/rules-against-intuition-archimedes-board-wipe/

according to this article (archimed rules), I certainly wouldn't lean for 3, because "Destroyed" happens earlier than moving card to discard, so backup will trigger if order matters or active player targets creature first.
The only thing that needs to be resolved is: if order on card matters or active player can choose.

I'd lean towards 1 until I have proofs, faq, etc.

Edited by alexshep