Grappling Struts Rotate

By Asaverino1019, in X-Wing Rules Questions

A situation came up with grappling struts in a game the other day, and we didn't know how to rule it.

A vulture was at range 0 of debris with struts open. It revealed a 2 right turn, and rotated. By rotating its base was no longer on the debris. At that point is the ship considered on the debris still? It technically didn't move and should still be at range 0 of the debris, however, because the bases aren't perfectly square it was no longer on the debris.

FYI it was a casual game, and we played it as the ship was no longer on the debris, with the struts open.

If it's no longer on the rock, it's no longer on the rock, just as if it had barrel rolled off it.

Its no longer on the debris. That said, you do NOT flip the struts closed after that. They stay open until the next round as the vulture has not executed a maneuver.

So you played it correctly.

If the vulture wanted to, after the rotation, they could Barrel roll back onto the debris, as they are still ignoring its effects while moving.

Edited by Lyianx
On 6/3/2019 at 2:27 PM, Lyianx said:

Its no longer on the debris. That said, you do NOT flip the struts closed after that. They stay open until the next round as the vulture has not executed a maneuver.

So you played it correctly.

If the vulture wanted to, after the rotation, they could Barrel roll back onto the debris, as they are still ignoring its effects while moving.

Sorry to resurrect this thread but a question. The OP mentioned rotating off of the debris. How is that possible? Isn't a rotation just a pivot about the central axis?

Once again, I'm sorry about going back this far but needed to be sure of the correct method of using struts.

Thanks!

The bases are not rotationally symmetrical; the guides/nubs could be on the rock at one angle and not at another.

10 hours ago, thespaceinvader said:

The bases are not rotationally symmetrical; the guides/nubs could be on the rock at one angle and not at another.

Didn't think of the nubs! Doh.

Thanks for the reply and the enlightenment!