Vader, Afterburners, Rocks, and Gas Clouds

By RedSquadBW, in X-Wing Rules Questions

If Vader with afterburners overlaps or flies through a rock or gas cloud and fully completes his maneuver he can then use afterburners to boost. Can he then use his ability to spend force to do further actions after the afterburners boost action but before his action step?

yes. please note that you don't get a perform action step if you move through or overlap an asteroid or a gas cloud while executing a maneuver. afterburners boost action is still fine, though - and you can use vaders ability to perform more actions off of the boost action granted by afterburners.

Swz15_a1_darth-vader.png

Afterburners.png

Edited by meffo
clarification
59 minutes ago, meffo said:

yes. please note that you don't get a perform action step if you move through or overlap an asteroid or a gas cloud at all. afterburners boost action is still fine, though - and you can use vaders ability to perform more actions off of the boost action granted by afterburners.

Minor Clarification: If you move through or overlap an asteroid or gas cloud with a maneuver , you lose your perform action step. If you somehow move onto or through one of those via another, non-maneuver method, you do not immediately lose your perform action step. Examples of this include decloaking (which is a boost or barrel roll) while equipped with a Collision Detector or being tractor beamed onto an obstacle.

Less clear is what happens with a post-move rotation that JUST puts one of your guides/nubs onto an obstacle, while you were initially clear...

37 minutes ago, emeraldbeacon said:

Minor Clarification: If you move through or overlap an asteroid or gas cloud with a maneuver , you lose your perform action step.

More Clarification: If move though or overlap an obstacle with a maneuver from your dial during your "Execute Maneuver" step of the Activation Phase, then you lose your perform action step. Maneuvers from ability's such as Adaptive Ailerons do not (as per FFG's ruling) cause you to loose your perform action step.

Edited by Lyianx

Are there any shenanigans Vader can pull off after moving through debris ??

Asking for a friend ;-D

None of I know as the stress is applied as part of the maneuver, (so afterburners work) but he can’t use his ability because he’s stressed...

Currently, only Afterburners work for Vader after moving through a rock.

General note: Vader works best with this, but someone like a Starviper or Belbullab with a linked action off their Boost can also make use of the same general trick.

3 minutes ago, Tellonius said:

Are there any shenanigans Vader can pull off after moving through debris ??

Asking for a friend ;-D

None of I know as the stress is applied as part of the maneuver, (so afterburners work) but he can’t use his ability because he’s stressed...

Yep. Debris stress breaks the afterburners tricks, and I can't think of any debris tricks in particular.

On 5/31/2019 at 1:23 PM, Lyianx said:

More Clarification: If move though or overlap an obstacle with a maneuver from your dial during your "Execute Maneuver" step of the Activation Phase, then you lose your perform action step. Maneuvers from ability's such as Adaptive Ailerons do not (as per FFG's ruling) cause you to loose your perform action step.

I just learned that adaptive ailerons don’t count for the purpose of losing perform action step, where does being ionized fall?

1 hour ago, kingofpain97 said:

I just learned that adaptive ailerons don’t count for the purpose of losing perform action step, where does being ionized fall?

in it's own category. ailerons is a movement effect that happens before you reveal your dial. being ionized at the beginning of a round makes you miss the planning phase for that ship. you don't set a dial or reveal it, but instead execute the standard ion maneuver, a blue one straight. you then remove the ion token and cannot perform any actions except focus during your perform action step.

2 hours ago, kingofpain97 said:

I just learned that adaptive ailerons don’t count for the purpose of losing perform action step, where does being ionized fall?

And if your Ionization maneuver takes you through a gas cloud or asteroid you still skip the Perform Action step.

8 hours ago, kingofpain97 said:

I just learned that adaptive ailerons don’t count for the purpose of losing perform action step, where does being ionized fall?

The key thing about what i stated was " d  uring your "Execute Maneuver" step of the Activation Phase".

Ion moves still perform that step during activation, so that maneuver is subject to all effects that would normally happen, including skipping the perform action step.

From Ion section in the reference on pg 12

Quote

During the Execute Maneuver step, the ionized ship executes the ion maneuver

The Adaptive Ailerons maneuver, does not occur during the Execute Maneuver step of the Activation Phase.

The ruling is on pg 27 of the reference.

Quote

Q: Do TIE Strikers (and Reapers) skip their perform action step if they overlap an asteroid or another ship with their Aileron’s ability maneuver?
A: No. It is only during the Execute Maneuver step that a ship skips its Perform Action step for overlapping a ship or obstacle.

Its confusing why FFG did that, because they still have to roll for Damage when overlapping an obstacle with Aileron’s. So they are specifically excluding one small part of a base rule. From a "just to reduce confusion" standpoint, i wish they would have either treated it the same as other maneuvers, or just said that Aileron’s completely ignores the effects of obstacles entirely, rather than cherry picking a single statement out of an entire mechanic that it ignores.

they're not cherry picking att all. of course you suffer all the effects of obstacles. the effect from asteroids and gas clouds of skipping your perform action step only triggers if you overlap or move through them while you execute a maneuver during the execute maneuver step of activation, though. seems crystal clear to me.

Indeed - there are many ways to take the effects of obstacles - collision detector, tractor tokens, various ship abilities, ailerons, SLAM. There is a different procedure for when you overlap them with your execute manoeuvre step. it's 100% clear.

4 hours ago, meffo said:

the effect from asteroids and gas clouds of skipping your perform action step only triggers if you overlap or move through them while you execute a maneuver during the execute maneuver step of activation,

Which was only clarified in the FAQ, and is STILL only clarified in the FAQ. If you read the Obstacle section, nothing has been noted that AA doesn't follow that entire paragraph of what an Asteroid does, nor is that paragraph of its effects, seen as independent. IF, for example, the note about "skipping its perform action step" was a bullet point under the asteroid effects, then you would have a point and it would be more clear that it just ignores that bullet point.. but its not written that way.

T45atY2.png

Given how X-wing's ability's typically work, where everything in the paragraph that isnt separated by bank lines, is treated as all encompassing and not separate, i think its understandable to assume when reading this that skipping the perform action step is part of the entirety of overlapping an asteroid. It is not, making any special dispensation, in that description, that it only happens during the Execute maneuver step of activation. So really, they need to edit this entry for Asteroid to reflect the FAQ ruling, unless they ONLY want it to effect that singular ability.

4 hours ago, thespaceinvader said:

Indeed - there are many ways to take the effects of obstacles - collision detector, tractor tokens, various ship abilities, ailerons, SLAM. There is a different procedure for when you overlap them with your execute manoeuvre step. it's 100% clear.

Collision detector & tractor tokens both specifically state what they override though and what they override are the entirety of specific rules. Other ship abilities (Notched Stabilizers) specifically state what they override and again, is the entirety of the effect. SLAM doesn't ignore obstacles at all and since you can only perform it during your perform action step, the skipping of that step is irrelevant. Looking at the Asteroid entry, it doesn't care about the execute maneuver step. It say "roll for damage, then skip the action step" as one complete thought. Which is why i say, AA should either ignore the effects entirely, or not.

CD only overrides the effects if you use the charge. You can still boost and roll (and decloak) onto rocks with it, not spend a charge, and not skip your action step.

7 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

CD only overrides the effects if you use the charge. You can still boost and roll (and decloak) onto rocks with it, not spend a charge, and not skip your action step. 

Yes, but that is because it falls under the second section of Obstacles..

" While a ship is moving, but not executing a maneuver.. " which those effects make no mention of skipping your perform action step. That is only mentioned under the executing a maneuver.

And they still want AA to count as executing a maneuver. So its not simply a move that would fall under this section.

Edited by Lyianx
53 minutes ago, Lyianx said:

Which was only clarified in the FAQ, and is STILL only clarified in the FAQ. If you read the Obstacle section, nothing has been noted that AA doesn't follow that entire paragraph of what an Asteroid does, nor is that paragraph of its effects, seen as independent. IF, for example, the note about "skipping its perform action step" was a bullet point under the asteroid effects, then you would have a point and it would be more clear that it just ignores that bullet point.. but its not written that way.  

T45atY2.png

Given how X-wing's ability's typically work, where everything in the paragraph that isnt separated by bank lines, is treated as all encompassing and not separate, i think its understandable to assume when reading this that skipping the perform action step is part of the entirety of overlapping an asteroid. It is not, making any special dispensation, in that description, that it only happens during the Execute maneuver step of activation. So really, they need to edit this entry for Asteroid to reflect the FAQ ruling, unless they ONLY want it to effect that singula          r ability.

agreed. thanks for calling me out on that!