obstacles

By period3, in X-Wing Rules Questions

So it's been a long time since I've played this game and I forget how obstacles work. The rule reference says:

"Before a ship moves, if it is at range 0 of an obstacle, it does not suffer
the effects of that obstacle unless it moves through or overlaps that
obstacle again."

This wording seem to imply that the most common case is that a ship will be on an obstacle, and be able to exit that obstacle WITHOUT moving through it. (otherwise one would expect the two clauses before and after unless to be inverted). This makes me doubt my interpretation of the rule, as I would expect the opposite to be at least as common. So I'd just like to confirm:

I'm sitting on a debris cloud, with my nose dead center in the middle of it. I've already suffered a stress and rolled a die. Now it's my turn again, and because the way the front of my ship is positioned, there's no way I can not have the maneuver template make contact with the debris cloud. Does that mean I'm "moving through" the obstacle, and once again suffer a stress and roll a die?

Yep. In the situation you described, you'll suffer the Debris Cloud effects both on the way in and the way out.

763f8dc39e837d2fe9d7676e61ab2cc6.jpg

Edited by theBitterFig

yes.

That phrase is to indicate that if you land on an obstacle such that you can execute your manoeuvre without your template touching the obstacle, or your base landing on it at the end, you haven't moved over it.

On ‎5‎/‎20‎/‎2019 at 1:43 PM, theBitterFig said:

763f8dc39e837d2fe9d7676e61ab2cc6.jpg

only commenting because original Tick comics were freaking awesome.