Rose Tico twice in one attack

By Harlaan, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Rose Tico crew reads " While you defend or perform an attack, you may spend 1 of your results to acquire a lock on the enemy ship."

Can I:

1 - roll attack dice

2 - spend 1 result to acquire a lock

3 - spend said lock to reroll dice

4 - spend 1 result to reacquire a lock?

the last bit has me in doubt, because I think it conflicts with the "once per opportunity" rule. Can anybody confirm?

Edited by Harlaan

You think correctly. Rose is once per attack because of the once per opportunity rule.

15 hours ago, thespaceinvader said:

You think correctly. Rose is once per attack because of the once per opportunity rule.

Well, sorta.. Its more about two other things.

1. Spending a result is a Dice modification

2. Under Dice Modification in the rules reference pg 10, it answers this question

Quote

If an ability instructs a ship to spend a result, it cannot spend another ship’s results unless stated otherwise.

In this case, its restricting you to spending 1 result during the attack.

Edited by Lyianx
wrong page
16 hours ago, Lyianx said:

2. Under Dice Modification in the rules reference pg 10, it answers this question

Quote

If an ability instructs a ship to spend a result, it cannot spend another ship’s results unless stated otherwise.

In this case, its restricting you to spending 1 result during the attack.

How do the rules preventing one ship from spending another ship's die, affect the number of times Rose can spend her own ship's dice?

Under the Once Per Opportunity section of the RR

"As another example, if a ship has the ability “While you perform an attack, you may reroll 1 attack die,” it may resolve that ability once during each of its attacks."

Rose Tico's wording is the same so she can only do it ONCE per attack.

3 hours ago, joeshmoe554 said:

How do the rules preventing one ship from spending another ship's die, affect the number of times Rose can spend her own ship's dice?

It doesnt. I miss read the rule.

Can she spend a Blank result?

1 minute ago, topacesteve said:

Can she spend a Blank result?

A blank result is a result, so yes she can.

1 minute ago, topacesteve said:

Can she spend a Blank result?

Yes.

Rose is once per opportunity, so you can't acquire a lock, spend it and then re-aquire the lock all in one attack.

You can - and this is when Rose is great - acquire a lock on defence, spend it attack and then re-acquire a new lock when you defend a second time in a single combat round. Because the opportunity is attacking or defending, rather than the combat phase.

On 10/31/2019 at 9:04 PM, The Penguin UK said:

You can - and this is when Rose is great - acquire a lock on defence, spend it attack and then re-acquire a new lock when you defend a second time in a single combat round. Because the opportunity is attacking or defending, rather than the combat phase.

It’s worth noting, in this scenario, that Rose restricts you to locking the ship you’re attacking or defending against; so if you want to re-acquire a lock on the same target you would have to spend a result when attacking. The lock acquired while defending for a second time would, if taken, be on a different enemy ship.

Reference!

latest?cb=20181003191921

I guess it's a good thing that Rose doesn't work with Foresight (since spending a result counts as a dice mod and is disallowed by Foresight), otherwise Rey+Foresight+Rose+Finn would bring a lot of pain to anyone unfortunate enough to land in her bullseye arc *wistful sigh*

On 10/31/2019 at 2:02 PM, topacesteve said:

Can she spend a Blank result?

Well, you see, this is why you fly her with Finn.

latest?cb=20181003211815