New to the game - Rule question about sealing a gate...

By player548403, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

If I read things right, one can use a "Fight" or "Lore" modifier when attempting to close a gate initially. If you have a card such as a pistol adding "+3" to a combat roll, does this +3 get added to the "Fight" modifier when the player attempts to close the gate?? Thanks in advance for any answers to this. More questions to come I'm sure in the future, and I apologize if this has been asked already.


V/r
Nezrel

If an item, skill or other card states that it adds to combat checks (such as a pistol) it only adds to those that specifically state they are combat checks. If you have items, skills or other cards that state they add to fight checks (such as Tom "Mountain" Murphy, or the "Fight" skill) then they add to Fight and Combat checks (a combat check being a skill check using your fight value plus combat modifiers).

Since closing a gate states it is a Fight check, then no, you can't use Combat modifiers.

ditto to Thorgrim's comment

Thanks! That is how I played it but wanted verification ;D I sure appreciate the help.

V/r
Nezrel