Fang Fen torpedo question

By Kaleb daark, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Hi,

I've recently played a couple of games with two fang fighters and a spacetug for random carnage, which always seems to make its points back in all the wrong ways.

I'm loving flying them!

My question is this:

The Advanced proton torpedoes are ordnance, and so cannot benefit from extra dice.

Does fens ability allow you to have the six dice shot at range 1

and

The charge token on the torpedo - is it the number of uses as well as the changing the hit to the crit, or can you use them repeatedly providing you can get a lock.?

thanks

Fenn's ability does not specify primary attack, so he rolls an extra dice on all attacks he makes at range 1. Including APTs, so yeah, six dice incoming.

The charge on the torpedo is spent to fire the weapon; changing a hit to crit is the torpedo's "bonus" effect, for lack of a better term. As they only have the one charge, this means they are one use only on a ship without the option to reload.

17 minutes ago, Kaleb daark said:

The Advanced proton torpedoes are ordnance, and so cannot benefit from extra dice.

@DR4CO is correct. Ordnance only disallows bonus dice for range (for the attacker at range 1, and the defender at range 3) - any other bonus dice are perfectly legal unless they specifically call out 'primary weapons'.

thanks guys much appreciated for the clarification.

As far as the charge tokens, they in themselves have no inherent effect. If the upgrade they are on interacts with them, it states specifically how. For Adv. Torps, the charge is spent to fire them. In other cases, such as Barrage Rockets, charges are spent on other effect. But the card will state each effect that a charge is required for.

latest?cb=20180914172603

If it does not specifically state to spend a charge for an effect, then its just a no cost effect.