Card question

By PierreBoberg, in The Lord of the Rings: Journeys in Middle-earth

Hi,
on some card it say discard and on some card it say not, but in the rule it say discard. But card text shoulde override rule text.
Ex:
Trailblazer card: Sprint 1 (During yout turn discard to move 1 space)
But on
Word off Warning: Sprint 1

What do you say?

pic4739102.jpg

The bold type means it is a keyword, so you follow the description as per the parenthetical on Trailblazer. So yes, you discard.

Edited by *player3640663

Basically sometimes they have enough space on the cards to put in full the rule connected to a keyword (like in Trailblazer) as a reminder, sometimes they have less space to work with so they print only the keyword itself (like in Word of Warning). In both cases you still have to follow the full rules for the keyword.

What about the "before you sprint , gain an inspiration."

If you don't use the sprint on the Trailblazer card, do you gain ain inspiration when you use a different card to sprint and not discard Trailblazer?

2 minutes ago, Thaeggan said:

What about the "before you sprint , gain an inspiration."

If you don't use the sprint on the Trailblazer card, do you gain ain inspiration when you use a different card to sprint and not discard Trailblazer?

You gain an inspiration regardless of which card you use for Sprint . As long as you have Trailblazer prepared and you discard the card with Sprint .

20 minutes ago, MeeKey said:

You gain an inspiration regardless of which card you use for Sprint . As long as you have Trailblazer prepared and you discard the card with Sprint .

right, but Trailblaze does not get discarded if you are only using it to gain an inspiration. Just confirming that as that is how I would play it.

Also worth noting that if you eventually wind up using Trailblazer for the Sprint ability you'd still gain an Inspiration token as Trailblazer is still in play "before" you discard it for Sprint.

If you look through most of the cards you'll see that the green colored starting cards spell out rules for keywords like Sprint, Guard, etc. to help you learn the game. The other cards you buy are either too wordy to fit the explanation or they assume you know the rules by then.

5 hours ago, Thaeggan said:

right, but Trailblaze does not get discarded if you are only using it to gain an inspiration. Just confirming that as that is how I would play it.

In case you're still wondering: Yes, trailblazer gives you inspiration without needing to discard it if you sprint with another card. It's one of the best innate role cards for that reason, and I often go the entire adventure without discarding it.