A slightly different "Anger"/"Do as much as you can" question

By hellboyberry, in KeyForge

Anger
Play: Ready and fight with a friendly creature.


I know all about the many discussions regarding readying and fighting when there isn't an enemy. And readying and fighting to remove stun (even if there isn't an enemy). So no need to retread that ground.

My question is: If I want to choose a creature to play this action on and he is already ready - I know I can do so.
However what if, at that time, there is an alternative option on my board to play this action on an exhausted creature?
Would that not fall into the realm of "Do as much of the action as you can"?
Therefore forcing me to play Anger on the exhausted creature?

This wouldn't be an issue if the card said:
Play: Choose a friendly creature. Ready and fight with it.
But it doesn't say that.

BTW I want this to not be the case as I think the target decision is implied. But interested about other peoples take on this.

From errata that makes me think the answer is no:

I play Smaaash (CoTA 046), but each of my opponent’s creatures
is already stunned. Do I have to resolve the effect against
Smaaash itself?
No. You may still choose to resolve Smaaash’s “Play:” effect against one
of your opponent’s creatures, however you cannot put a stun counter on
an already stunned creature so nothing will happen.

The rule isn't "You MUST do as much as you can", meaning that for every card you play you would have to play it to it's maximum effect.

You choose where you want to apply the card's effect; from that point, you "do as much as you can."

All makes sense, and as I played it. Thanks for thinking along.

6 hours ago, blinkingline said:

The rule isn't "You MUST do as much as you can", meaning that for every card you play you would have to play it to it's maximum effect.

You choose where you want to apply the card's effect; from that point, you "do as much as you can."

I agree with you and Revert 100%, but I do want to observe that from a nit-picky standpoint the rules of targeting are implied and not explicit in the rules. I find that very humorous.