General Grievous

By dotswarlock, in X-Wing Rules Questions

A question that happened yesterday with General Grievous :

" While you defend, after the Neutralize Results step, if there are 2 or more hit / crit results, you may spend 1 charge to cancel 1 hit or crit result. (the rest is not pertinent to the question)"

During yesterday's game, my opponent (who had Grievous), was persuaded that if he used his ability, he had to cancel a dice in the same order as the neturalize results step (hits before crits). I had told him that as far as I knew, he could chose which one to cancel, but he insisted. It was late and the scenario had not actually happened (so I did not want to discuss the point further), but since this might affect him on an upcoming tournament, it might be best to clarify it through a source other than me.

So as far as I know, being forced to cancel hits before crits is only explicitaly stated in the neutralize results step and Grievous explicitely says that he triggers after said step. So someone should be able to cancel a crit before a hit, correct?

I don't know of a reason why Grievous would have to cancel a Hit before a Crit.

Contrast with Reinforce. "During the Neutralize Results step, if the attack would hit and there is more than one Hit/Crit result remaining, one Evade result is added to cancel one result" (RR p15). This pretty clearly is going to keep the standard Neutralize Results order of cancelling Hits before Crits, because it's still during the Neutralize Results step, and because it works through the mechanism of adding an Evade result.

Grievous, on the other hand, happens after the NR-step not during it, so the order shouldn't apply. It also doesn't work by adding an Evade result to cancel off pairs of results, but simply eliminates a Hit/Crit directly. Based on Grievous' dissimilarity to Reinforce, I'm led to think he works a different way.

That said, I'd be pretty open to being convinced otherwise, if someone wants to lay out a solid case otherwise.

As you say, General Grievous only triggers after the Neutralize Results step.

Even with that, the Neutralize Results step specifically states that first, you pair an evade result and hit results and cancel them, then you pair evade results and crit results and cancel them. They are in step form now so it never actually says "hits must be canceled before crits". You are just following steps, which has the proper order.

Quote

a. Pairs of [evade] and [hit] results are canceled.
b. Pairs of [evade] and [crit] results are canceled.


So, after all of that happens, Then Grievous triggers and he can cancel which ever result he wants (so long as there are 2+ attack results left).

Ya grievous can cancel hits or crits in any order, it's pretty straight forward.

others have explained why just adding my support.