Poe's Ability + Ion Maneuver

By feltipern1, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Quick question because it came up my last game:

If Poe is required to execute an ion maneuver, and then focuses, does that then allow him to use his pilot ability to perform a second action, treating it as red? It doesn't look like it, from the rules for being ionized, but I thought I'd poll to check.

21 minutes ago, feltipern1 said:

Quick question because it came up my last game:

If Poe is required to execute an ion maneuver, and then focuses, does that then allow him to use his pilot ability to perform a second action, treating it as red? It doesn't look like it, from the rules for being ionized, but I thought I'd poll to check.

Poe cannot perform any other actions off of the Focus action, as being Ionized states you can only perform a Focus action during the Perform Action step.

If Poe had another action coordinated onto him, or was granted an action by other means (for example, having BB-8 equipped and spending a charge to perform a boost) he could trigger his ability off of that, even while Ionized.

Edited by AceDogbert

For reference, Rules Reference pg 27.

Quote

Q: Can an ionized ship perform an action that is linked to its focus action after performing its focus action?
A: No. Focus is the only action that it can perform during the Perform Action step.

Ability's that grant bonus actions (such as Poe and Vader) are treated similar to Linked actions.

1 hour ago, AceDogbert said:

Poe cannot perform any other actions off of the Focus action, as being Ionized states you can only perform a Focus action during the Perform Action step.

If Poe had another action coordinated onto him, or was granted an action by other means (for example, having BB-8 equipped and spending a charge to perform a boost) he could trigger his ability off of that, even while Ionized.

If that's accurate, that's very interesting.

57 minutes ago, feltipern1 said:

If that's accurate, that's very interesting.

It is. Coordinate, BB-8, ect. all happen out side of the ships Perform Action step. The ionized Focus action restriction only applies during the Perform Action step. So any actions granted Outside of that step, are fair game.

So along those lines when Jake Ferrell allows a friendly ship to perform a focus action, due to his pilot ability, can that friendly ship perform an action that is linked to focus. For example Jake gave a focus action to a Ten Numb could he perform the focus and them link to the red barrel roll?

Yes.

15 minutes ago, SILENT FURY said:

So along those lines when Jake Ferrell allows a friendly ship to perform a focus action, due to his pilot ability, can that friendly ship perform an action that is linked to focus. For example Jake gave a focus action to a Ten Numb could he perform the focus and them link to the red barrel roll?

Yes, just be aware that if, in your example, Jake gives a focus action to an ionized ship, that ship wont be able to do any action during its perform action step.

It still seems odd but I did find it in the rules so I guess the text would have to specifically say no you can't do other stuff if that was going to be the case.

"A linked action can be performed after performing the action it is attached to even if that action was granted by a card effect or other game effect."

Edited by SILENT FURY

because it already performed a focus action right?

1 hour ago, SILENT FURY said:

because it already performed a focus action right?

Correct.