Do Nubs count for Bombs?

By Clutterbuck, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Tie Punisher with Trajectory Simulator launches a Proton Bomb 5 forward, then moves 1 forward. Does the bomb hit the Punisher that threw it or not? From my tooling around with this, it looks dependent on whether the nubs count.

nubs count, yes.

Your conclusion is also correct--medium-based ships that TS-launch a device with a range 1 effect, then perform a 1 forward and do not reposition, will be in range of that device's effect.

Yup, that was a sad realization for me moving to 2.0. My Triple Punisher squad would now be taking the Proton Bomb in the face after their 1 forward. But never fear. With Ablative Plating we can once again laugh in the face of the Rebellion:

Proton Bombs Do Not Concern Me (198)

Cutlass Squadron Pilot (38)
Trajectory Simulator (10)
Ablative Plating (6)
Barrage Rockets (7)
Proton Bombs (5)

Cutlass Squadron Pilot (38)
Trajectory Simulator (10)
Ablative Plating (6)
Barrage Rockets (7)
Proton Bombs (5)

Cutlass Squadron Pilot (38)
Trajectory Simulator (10)
Ablative Plating (6)
Barrage Rockets (7)
Proton Bombs (5)

Its hard to tell which guides you are referring to. So ill try to answer for both.


If you are asking if while measuring range from the bomb to the ship, and the range ruler only overlaps the ship guides, then no, they are ignored.


Rules Reference pg 11

Quote

Guides on a ship’s base are ignored only while measuring range or determining whether a ship is in an arc.

If you are asking if the BOMBS guides count, then yes, they do.

Rules Reference pg 9

Quote

The guides on a device count as part of the device for the purposes of measuring range to or from it as well as overlapping and moving through it.

Hope that answers your question.

13 minutes ago, Lyianx said:

Its hard to tell which guides you are referring to. So ill try to answer for both.


If you are asking if while measuring range from the bomb to the ship, and the range ruler only overlaps the ship guides, then no, they are ignored.


Rules Reference pg 11

If you are asking if the BOMBS guides count, then yes, they do.

Rules Reference pg 9

Hope that answers your question.

Gah I looked for that section, but of course it's not under 'range' or 'arc'.

Why would it be.