Autoblaster question

By Ravenhull, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Okay, given they ‘spoiled’ the Autoblaster cannon upgrade in the livestream, I assume it’s safe to discuss it.

Don’t have the image, but it’s a 2 dice, Range 2, Forward Arc weapon. If the target is in the Bullseye, you get to roll an additional die. If you aren’t in the defenders forward arc, they can’t cancel crit results (rather than the old one making hits uncancelable).

My question, though, is that if the target is in Range 1 within the full firing arc, but if you measure the bullseye arc, that is at range 2. So, how many dice do you roll, 3 or 4? That is, do you get the Range 1 bonus and the ‘within the bullseye arc’ bonus die?

I’d say yes, you’d get 4 dice. You are meeting both conditions.

Id have to see the card in question to be sure... but as you have written it, it sounds like the extra die from the Bullseye is its own condition, while the range of the attack is range 1. So 4 dice, it sounds like.

Considering how narrow the forward arc is for a small base ship at range 1, should be a relatively easy condition to achieve. Not guaranteed, but hey.

The actual card's text taken from a screengrab of the live stream:

Quote

Attack: If the defender is in your [bullseyearc], roll 1 additional die. During the Neutralize Results step, if you are not in the defender's [frontarc], [evade] results do not cancel [crit] results.

So....Marksmanship finally got scary for someone other than Seyn or Maarek.

Absolutely no question this works.

Can't see it being cheap though. Probably about ion cannon prices.

Snagged a screencap.

lcfGfYt.png

So yeah. It will give 4 dice if target is in bullseye, and attack is at range 1. Bullseye itself does not need to be in range `1.

It's pretty similar to a T-70 with closed S-Foils, but kind of in reverse. If the target is in your bullseye arc, you won't suffer the attack dice penalty on the S-Foils. It won't matter if the attack range is 1, but the bullseye doesn't reach the enemy until range 2, you'll still roll full attack dice for the closest point of the attack.

1: the range bonus doesn't care about any arc other than the weapon's arc, it only cares about closest point.

2. the bullseye effects of T-70 S-Foils or Autoblaster aren't based on range (other than the fact that all arcs extend to range 3), only on whether a ship is in that bullseye arc--an independent true/false test.

They actually did it in the stream so yeah it works.

Though what articles and streams claim isn't always reliable. I'm told there's always something off, it's a rule. :) But I agree with everyone here that it works and gets you four dice, which is beautiful and terrifying to behold.

Five for an Upsilon or Zuckuss (edit: zuckuss is primary only, boooooo).

Edited by Wazat
derp
2 hours ago, Wazat said:

Though what articles and streams claim isn't always reliable. I'm told there's always something off, it's a rule.

I mean, that is true. Play streams i can easily forgive. Players make mistakes all the time when playing live. But their articles also tend to have errors, which is a bit harder to forgive. All that said, their errors at least are usually fairly obvious as well. But left uncorrected, can lead to disputes *cough* Paige Tico *cough*