Coordinate and linked actions

By Darth Darxide, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Could not find the answer to this question.

Are linked actions allowed to be coordinated?

Any help is appreciated 👍🏼

You can link off a coordinated action.

You cannot coordinate only the right half of the linked action if you don't wanna do the left half of it.

Rules Reference Pg. 12 - Linked Action

Quote

A linked action can be performed after performing the action it is attached to even if that action was granted by a card effect or other game effect .

In this case, other game effect being coordinate.

Thanks guys 👍🏼

Yep, an action granted by Coordinate can be linked into other actions, or trigger abilities such as Vectored Thrusters (which aren't technically linked actions).

It's worth noting that with Lieutenant Sai (and presumably other ships which have fancy Coordinate abilities), her coordinate-related ability only applies to the first action. Sai can't coordinate a TIE v1 to Boost, have it link to a Focus, then perform the focus action with her ability. Sai's ability only interacts with the first action. It isn't 100% settled, but someone like AP-5 likely only applies the opportunity to perform actions while stressed to the initial action.

On 4/27/2019 at 4:19 AM, Lyianx said:

Rules Reference Pg. 12 - Linked Action

In this case, other game effect being coordinate.

So we could also presume that Pattern Analyser would allow us to do a linked action? What is the timing to get the stress from the red maneuver in that case?

44 minutes ago, DarthMuz said:

So we could also presume that Pattern Analyser would allow us to do a linked action? What is the timing to get the stress from the red maneuver in that case?

You would get to do the pattern analyser action, then the linked action.

Pattern Analyser resolves at a step 'inserted' into execute manouvre, whilst the stress comes at the next step. Anything triggered off the initial action will resolve before you complete the manouvre ahd check pilot stress.

Of course, most linked actions are red, so doing so will end up with you double-stressed, but it's still a nice option to have (especially for Nien Nunb, who can remove the stress, or a TIE/sf, who has a relatively rare white linked action).

Yep thinking about it for the SF :)