Basha's Bloodaxe question

By heapmaster, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

This issue came up while playing last night:

Basha's Bloodaxe states: While attached Unit is attacking double all damage dealt to the defending Opponent's Capital.

Orc unit has Basha's Bloodaxe and is attacking. Opponent defends. Lethal combat damage is assigned to the unit w/ the Bloodaxe and some damage is assigned to the capital.

The question is: does the damage on the capital get doubled?

It seems like it should to me, but "damage dealt" is definitely different from "damage assigned" and the axe would no longer be in play once damage was dealt. But the axe did deal the damage (and therefore its effect should trigger).

I keep talking myself in and out of it :-/

A little help?

All damage is applied simultaneously, when the damage is to be applied to the capital it would be doubled. After all damage is applied from combat then units are removed and damage tokens are replaced with burn tokens where applicable.

Don't forget to shoot your Rock Lobber during one of the Action window during combat, that's 4 dmg to capital, thanks to the doubling.

Do other attacking units participate from Basha's Bloodaxe?

When I attack with 5 units with 2 powers and 1 hit point each (one of the 5 units has Basha's Bloodaxe) and my opponent defends with one unit with 1 power and 2 hit points, 10 damages go through to the opponent's capital zone. What happenes to them? Will all the 10 damages be doubled for a total of 20 damages?

Philos said:

Do other attacking units participate from Basha's Bloodaxe?

When I attack with 5 units with 2 powers and 1 hit point each (one of the 5 units has Basha's Bloodaxe) and my opponent defends with one unit with 1 power and 2 hit points, 10 damages go through to the opponent's capital zone. What happenes to them? Will all the 10 damages be doubled for a total of 20 damages?

All damage to capital, whether combat or non-combat damage is doubled as long as unit with Basha's Bloodaxe is attacking. So in the above case, 20 dmg to capital.

How does Basha's Bloodaxe interact with damage cancellation/prevention?

In particular, does the damage double when it's assigned or applied? E.g. does Crooked Teef Goblin equipped with it cause 5 ((1+2) * 2 - 1) or 4 ((1+2-1) * 2) damage to a capital fortified by a Contested Fortress?

The first feels more natural to me, as otherwise we would have 3 damage assigned (maybe even in concrete form of damage tokens placed near the zone), then one cancelled and then two more damage would end up on the capital out of thin air (i.e. without even having been assigned first!). But then again... who knows - I though I'd better ask...

In the case of the Bloodaxe, it doubles after cancellation, because it says "double all damage dealt" and damage is not "dealt" until it has been assigned + applied.

Is there a rule that does prevent me to put Bloodaxe on unit with Armed to Da Teef? I hold back 2 resources and play Armed To Da Teef at the beginning of my turn onto Spider Riders. I have Bloodaxe and Choppa in my discard pile and attach them to the Spider Riders, corrupting them in the process. After that I can restore my Spiders and use them in the same turn. It seems like a legal move or am I missing something?

If you have leftover resources from your last turn, then by all means, doing so is perfectly legal.