So... Snap Shot

By thespaceinvader, in X-Wing Rules Questions

It's just visible in the BTL-B Y Wing spread, and it works the same as 1e, it's an Ordnance weapon so no range bonuses, it triggers at the same points.

But it has, on a separate line the words 'Your dice cannot be modified'.

Obviously, the intend is 'for this attack, your dice cannot be modified' but as written, that restriction doesn't exist. So, your dice cannot be modified, ever. Can't reroll them. Can't spend them. Can't add or change the faces. So no focusing, no target locks. But also, immunity to Juke.

Thoughts?

11 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

It's just visible in the BTL-B Y Wing spread, and it works the same as 1e, it's an Ordnance weapon so no range bonuses, it triggers at the same points.

But it has, on a separate line the words 'Your dice cannot be modified'.

Obviously, the intend is 'for this attack, your dice cannot be modified' but as written, that restriction doesn't exist. So, your dice cannot be modified, ever. Can't reroll them. Can't spend them. Can't add or change the faces. So no focusing, no target locks. But also, immunity to Juke.

Thoughts?

my thoughts are:

the images resolution is too low to make it out properly.

"your dice cannot be modified." is hopefully not the final wording for this upgrade.

i need this upgrade.

a secondary weapon in a talent slot is very exciting.

much like the wording on elusive, not all text on upgrade cards always refer to all abilities and other upgrades a ship has.

i assume this will be considered a bonus attack, but unlike every other secondary weapon in the game currently, it does not state "Attack:", for obvious reasons.

the new y-wing looks like ****, but could definitely be very good.

lets wait and see.

It definitely says it's a bonus attack, and it wouldn't matter if it didn't because of the Han Gunner ruling.

The new Y Wing look like it could be great to me. Anakin's ability gels really nicely with it.

Looks like Snap Shot also lacks the "Attack:" header anywhere. Without that, I don't know if it could even be an attack.

But I guess I wouldn't take anything too seriously until it's been spoiled in full resolution.

3 hours ago, theBitterFig said:

Looks like Snap Shot also lacks the "Attack:" header anywhere. Without that, I don't know if it could even be an attack.

But I guess I wouldn't take anything too seriously until it's been spoiled in full resolution.

Wow, I think you're right on the lack of the "Attack:" header, but that just means you can't use it when you engage. Dorsal Turret just says "Attack: Perform this attack.", with "this attack" being defined by the range and dice on the right (in dorsal turrets case, range 1-2, turret arc, 2 dice). The "you may perform this attack as a bonus attack" on Snap shot would let you use the attack as defined on the card (looks like range 2, front arc, 2 dice, ordnance), but wouldn't let you use it to supplement a ships weapons generally (by giving something with a turret arc a permanent, forward arc option).

Yup, and that's an improvement on the wording from 1e, which did allow that, for what little it was worth (largely Dash, who lacked range 1 options at all. it's more important in 2e.

@thespaceinvader why immunity to juke?

Juke regards defense dice. I'm pretty sure that the card regards dice modification on attack dice only. 🧐

2 minutes ago, Arma Quattro said:

@thespaceinvader why immunity to juke?

Juke regards defense dice. I'm pretty sure that the card regards dice modification on attack dice only. 🧐

Is that what it says?

No.

It says 'your dice cannot be modified'.

But snap shot is an attack. Therefore 'your'dice are the red ones.

Otherwise I'm missing something?

It doesn't say 'during this attack your dice cannot be modified'. It doesn't have an attack header to indicate that the text only applies to the attack itself.

It just says 'your dice cannot be modified'.

I'm 100% sure this is an error, and it might well be corrected before release, but as it stands...

i think there is a misunderstanding here. you could still juke the defenders dice if you made an attack with snap shot, @Arma Quattro . the way the card is written (as far as we know at this moment) would mean that a ship attacking a ship with snap shot equipped cannot juke a dice the snap shot ship is rolling while defending, since that ships dice cannot be modified.

On 4/21/2019 at 4:35 PM, thespaceinvader said:

It doesn't say 'during this attack your dice cannot be modified'. It doesn't have an attack header to indicate that the text only applies to the attack itself.

It just says 'your dice cannot be modified'.

I'm 100% sure this is an error, and it might well be corrected before release, but as it stands...

You're not wrong. Like you, im 100% sure it is not FFG's intent that its ability prevents any of your dice from being modified, for the entire ship, regardless what its doing with those dice. But as you said, the way its written, does give off that impression, similar to other abilities.

Hopefully, they will correct the wording before its release... if its not already too late and has been printed.

Funny how they tried hard to clear the wording for 2.0 release and now they are just back to their habit of not caring and watching and rushing stuff out... Welcome back to 1.0 bad wording