If a wizard with WP 5 and 5 Power points uses channeling to gain 7 Power points and quick cast a 2 Power points spell (succesfully or unsuccesfully), he will never risk to "overchannel" by the end of his turn?
Wizards spellcasting and channeling
Someone can confirm if this is correct?
ok, this is one of those cases from the rulebook that makes you want to punch somebody. just reading the rulebook leads one to believe that you might resolve excess power from channeling first. then you cast. quickcasting just lets you do both in the same turn. so in your example, since the mage channeled more than twice his WP he has to spend a maneuver immediately and suffer an additional stress (just spending a maneuver might cause you a stress if you have already used your free maneuver). then, you cast and subtract power.
however, this is not the case at all. excess power, according to the faq, is resolved at the end of turn phase. so you are absolutely right . if you cast a spell using quickacast and that 1) puts you at or under twice your willpower and 2) you don't spend a maneuver, then the worst thing that happens is you lose one power at the end of your turn. no venting.
Keep in mind this assumes the wizard successfully casts the quick-casted spell. Should he fail, he will be over on power ...
It doesn't matter if the spell is cast successfully or not, the power is consumed regardless, as stated on p. 34 of the Tome of Mysteries, right before the Losing Power sub-title:
"The power is consumed whether or not the spell is successfully cast. "
I don't really see a wizard needing to vent power unless he forgets or has power dumped onto him as a secondary effect. Just as long as he keeps quick casting he'll be pretty safe from venting power. Of course, he'll be facing the increased chance of miscasts.
Oops, you're right. I wasn't thinking when I typed, apparently.
Do you think that making a failed spellcasting roll similar to a failed invocation (i.e. lose only 1 point instead of the full cost of the spell) would be unbalancing?
no, but spellcasting is supposed to be a higher risk, greater gain venture fluffwise and mechanically when compared to invoking a blessing. when you reduce penalties to failure for spellcasting you are eliminating fluff differences which is completely up to you. i like what the ToA says about changing fluff too much, you can do it but you will probably dissapoint people who want to play "warhammer."
Bindlespin said:
no, but spellcasting is supposed to be a higher risk, greater gain venture fluffwise and mechanically when compared to invoking a blessing. when you reduce penalties to failure for spellcasting you are eliminating fluff differences which is completely up to you. i like what the ToA says about changing fluff too much, you can do it but you will probably dissapoint people who want to play "warhammer."
Uhm... I think that by reducing to 1 the cost for a failed spell I increase the penalties. This is beacuse in this way a wizard can find himself with too much Power that he must vent. Otherwise the power venting simply never happens.
ummm, i was trying to be supportive even though i disagree with your point of view. venting will only happen if a player can't or won't spend a manuever and take one stress to control himself. your suggestion might leave a wizard with more than double his wp in power at the end of his turn, but it won't make him vent. all you have done is eliminate the wizard's need to channel again for his next turn. this is not a penalty. additionally, you reduce the much more likely possibility that a caster may be forced to lose power when he doesn't have any left to lose.
You have forgotten the 'Chaos Star' result on channeling (reckless).
In Warhammer RPG, Magic is not a way to replace science and guns and stuffs.... It has to be extremely corrupting, exhausting and dangerous. Remember previous edition (Tzench curse and stuff like that).
By the way Powers are appreciated at the end of the wizard's turn, same as powers for Priests (+1 if <WP, -1 if >WP except if you spend 1 manoeuvre, terrible Venting if >WPx2 except if you spend 1 manoeuvre and take 1 stress).
Wizards exhaust their power for a failed spell. Why ? because a failed spell might be au spell launched which doesn't pass the target's defence for example.
Fresnel said:
You have forgotten the 'Chaos Star' result on channeling (reckless).
Yes but this one only force a wizard to quick cast and eliminate the excess power (with a succesful or unsuccesful casting, since the power is burned anyway).
Anyone has seen a wirzard ending his turn with more than 2 x Willpower power points?
Note the context. If a failed spell didn't burn power...
channeling and spellcasting are seperate actions. you resolve the channel and semi-venting from chaos star star results while channeling before you can cast. from the card "after you resolve this action..." not after you cast or fail to cast your spell. i am not even sure what we are talking about anymore. wizards can end their turn with more than twice their willpower. easy. they are wizards that channel and don't quickcast so that they they have a better chance of success for more difficult spells the following round. as long as they pay the stress and use the maneuver they can hold all the juice they want.
Bindlespin said:
channeling and spellcasting are seperate actions. you resolve the channel and semi-venting from chaos star star results while channeling before you can cast. from the card "after you resolve this action..." not after you cast or fail to cast your spell..
Turn the card around and look at the Reckless side as specified.
thanks, i read the reckless side. i am in a bad mood today so I am going to let you guys sort this out.